We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel!”
Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Town House Motel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here one night on our vacation to the Black Hills. When we arrived, we came to find there was an issue with our reservation on Booking.com, and due to this, they were nice enough to give us a discount on our stay. It was nice, fairly clean, spacious and very quite. Our room had a fridge, microwave, a flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. They offer free breakfast, which we took advantage of, and was very good! At one point, we were in need of a phone charger, and after asking the front desk-man the nearest place we could get one, he actually gave us one of his; which I thought was exceptionally nice! We would stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittanyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Town House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were headed back home to the east coast, and we wanted to go to Mt. Rushmore before leaving. Other lodgings in the area are pretty pricey due to high tourism, so we took a chance on this place based on the reviews we read. Yes, it is a bit dated in some aspects, although the carpet was pretty new and clean and the walls seemed freshly painted. The bathroom tub was a little old-fashioned. Mostly, I am looking for a room to be clean, and this was. Overall, it worked well for a two night stay so we could see the area. There was a fridge in the room and a microwave. There was a nice TV. The bed was clean and comfortable enough. There are no "bells and whistles" like shampoo and hair dryer (I think 2 small soaps were all they offered and a make-up removal towelette), so be sure to bring your own. The towels were soft! There is a continental breakfast of carb items, and even though they seemed to run out of this and that, we still managed to have a decent breakfast there in the little dining area just off the office. The motel is a little over 30 miles away from Mt. Rushmore. It is in a quiet area of Rapid City and it seemed safe. All in all, we were satisfied with the stay for what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlybirdy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There was no one in the recetion when we came to check in - had to wait quite a while. The room didn't have good lighting so it appears a bit gloomy, and there are no amenities. Felts a bit run. There's a fridge and a micro - but no coffee maskin. And there was no breakfast, even though there is a breakfast room... The location is good. Just a couple of blocks from the center. That was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I thought there was breakfast, never got it. Pool was minuscule. A/c loud and ineffective. Never did see a front desk person, keys were in box outside the door. But. It was one of the cheapest places in town for this time of year so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There were crumbs on the floor. No one could sleep on one of the beds as the matrass tipped when it was sat on, let alone try to sleep on it. Luckily, we didn't need to use that bed. There were rips in the comforters & sheets. The internet was very slow. Would not recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc12354774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The motel is not fancy, but seemed clean enough. We had a mini frig and a microwave, but no coffee maker. I'd rather have a refrigerator than a coffee maker anyhow. You'll need to bring your own shampoo and dryer. Very basic continental breakfast - juice, cereal, muffins, fruit. We were only there one night, didn't need fancy amenities, and the price was right. The motel is not far from the statues of the Presidents. If we'd been there longer, we'd have walked around and looked at them. Appreciated the free Wi-Fi. The air conditioner could barely keep up with a 90 degree day. The room was warm when we went in, and it took a long time to cool to a comfortable temperature. Since we got there about 9:00, that did make it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were clean but lacked even a coffee maker and the office closed at 09:00 hours. If you have other choices consider them the price was not that good. The sheriffs office complex is just down the street so it might be safe, but someone entered our room against the do not disturb sign.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Address: 210 Saint Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2827
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $60 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel in downtown Rapid City. We have clean rooms, low rates, heated pool. We try to make you feel at home when you're away from yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Rapid City
Town Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing