We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service.... food...yuch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fireside - CLOSED

The Fireside
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Highway 44
Description: The Fireside is a unique dining experience at an iconic location.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good service.... food...yuch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Haven't been to Fireside in years, was excited to finally get back last night....still sad, what a total.....total, culinary disappointment. Food was almost completely inedible, besides the asparagus... Which was quite tasty, and properly cooked. Salmon Chowder,, though tasty, don't think you should have to cut up your potatoes in a bowl of soup, popovers, good idea, but tasted old and dry. I ordered the Fiery Sirloin, I know top sirloin is not as tender as other cuts, but shouldn't have to shake the table to get through it, the steak also had a "Jalapeño Relish"... Either it came out of a can or jar, or they used canned ingredients... Gooky sweet and quite yucky, Roasted potatoes, tasted like they were cooked way earlier in the day and held for the night. Disappointed to the point, I passed on dessert, based on what I've heard on the street about the desserts being fairly low quality. The one shinning star was the waitress, she was top notch and seemed like she cared, she was the only reason why this place got more then one star. Save your money, better to buy a bag of burger king and a 12pk of keystones!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

After hearing of the changes at Fireside and not have been here since 2004. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised.
Our meal was very good and the staff very attentive. I wish them the best and I hope more people support your local restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We eat dinner at the Fireside frequently and love the new owners and their food. On our last visit, the salmon medallion special was delicious - nice crust but tender inside, and the chutney and risotto were top-notch. My husband had the chicken marsala with an onion haystack. The salads were fresh and the sorbet trio for dessert was wonderful - smooth and luscious but tart and flavorful. Everything is fresh and well-prepared and delicious. The hosts are gracious and friendly and the location is very nice - out of town but not too far. The menu is varied, with something for every preference, plus they have a nice wine and beer selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol_at_Hisega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New owner and chefs have made this a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

About 8 miles west of Rapid City, into the Black Hills National Forest, in a community named Hisega, sits the Fireside. After being closed for a long time, I am delighted to see new owners and chefs making a go of the Fireside. I have gone numerous times, and see that they are always making correct changes, to make everyone's dining experience better.

Great Prime Rib, and on Wednesdays it is at a discounted price. Thursday is 1/2 price on bottled wine. ( good wine list) We have also had a delicious Halibut. Save room for dessert, as the pastry chef always has something tasty and unique.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lv2sitesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sadly underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I were staying at a bed and breakfast across the street. My husband really wanted pie so we visited The Fireside. The owner was quite arrogant and snorted that his restaurant was a fine dinning establishment and didn't serve pie. We de ended to split a a piece of strawberry lemonade cake and coffee. The coffee was good but the cake was equally dry and sticky. It was served with a quenelle of lemon sorbet and one of strawberry sorbet, 9 quarters of fresh strawberries, and candied lemon. The candied lemons were great. The lemon sorbet was sickeningly bitter. The waiter was nice. The decor was dated and it was uncomfortably warm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing