We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay that makes you feel like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Rapid City
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent place to stay that makes you feel like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel feels like a home with the in room kitchens. The rooms and the hotel were very clean and well kept. They had a very nice breakfast. I will use this hotel the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hupkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    105
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
151
93
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Would give it Excellent as far as room goes,it's new.
Constant fan was a plus for air movement and to cover night noise!
Good bed, TV hd flat panel but only analog shows.

Reasons for only very good are:
Weak Wifi, keeps kicking you off.
No sheer drapes on window.
Thin ceiling and walls, noise!
Parking mostly in back, steps, no ramps.
Weak menu for breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SBrown1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was very clean and nice with many amenities. I was told the hotel had only been open 3 months. The problem is that it was hard to get a good night sleep, despite the comfort because of the noise and light in the room. The drapes fo not block out the outside light so it was "twilight" in the room all night long. The room was very noisy from freeway noise, the vent in bathroom that runs all night long and is not controlled in the room, the air conditioner and the refrigerator cycling on and off all night. The room was on the 4th floor facing east. The price was reasonable considering the location near many tourist sites and the time of year.

Room Tip: Due to the location, it is probably not possible to get a room without freeway or truck noise, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very nice, clean place to stay. Price was good for location. Bed slept well, small kitchenette. Continental breakfast was good.
Very convenient to a lot of different things. Restaurants, mall, movie theaters. We were able to book short notice

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkrdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent two nights here and the entire experience was great. The staff was very helpful and answered any questions we had. The room was very clean and neat. Will say there again if we get that way, recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The price for these rooms was so low I thought they weren't going to be up to par... I was completely wrong!

The rooms are immaculate and roomy. Everything is new and the kitchenette comes in handy. It's almost like a small studio. Flat screen TVs have ESPN & HBO which my husband was happy about. :)

The girl, Mary or "original Mary" who I spoke with over the phone was a bit of a know it all but the staff I encountered at the hotel were all very nice, especially the housekeeping staff. They made sure my room was clean and had towels.

Breakfast was decent, not the best nor worse. But can't complain.

Make sure u ask for AAA discount or senior discounts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanna_510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took a quick trip to Rapid City to meet up with family. Staff was more than helpful and very friendly for all three nights. The rooms were well-maintained and offered plenty of room for our small family. The kitchenette came in handy when we wanted to avoid crowds at the local restaurants. Hotel location was easy to find and situated away from busier areas and well within driving distance of local attractions. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Single queen rooms seem a bit cramped, but the King rooms are spacious. King rooms are at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryhn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.0 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Rapid City

Property: MainStay Suites Rapid City
Address: Outfitter Road Next to 3231 E. Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing