We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MainStay Suites Rapid City
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on September 4, 2013. Overall this was a good hotel experience for us. I was pleasantly surprised to find a MainStay Suites in Rapid City and even more pleased when I discovered the rates for this hotel were quite reasonable when compared to the competition. The room we rented (King Suite) was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right next door to a Cabela's and close to other restaurants and shopping. I have but two negatives for the hotel, one that I believe the staff will address and the other one which cannot be corrected. Our room had a shower area that was tiled. Whoever installed the tile failed to caulk the seams, thus moisture could and did seep into the cracks. We notified the staff and pointed out the potential for problems. They indicated the matter would be corrected. I also suggested they check all of their rooms for this problem as this could become a very major issue. The systemic problem is that the breakfast area is far too small for the size of this hotel. Didn't have room to change my mind in the breakfast area. Just getting a cup of coffee was a pain. This problem is minor when compared to the value received for the price. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    104
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
149
93
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
407 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is brand new and also has great staff! We checked in and are completely pleased. The rooms are suites with a full kitchen. Contemporary rooms and décor and full extended breakfast included. The hotel also has a heated indoor pool and exercise room. Cabela's is also located right next door. What a deal! If anyone would complain about this place - I don't even know what to say. This place is like walking into a brand new home! NICE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here two nights and we are lucky to meet all nice staff. Nothing to say about the cleanliness because it is a really brand new hotel. With this price, I don't think anyone can ever complain. It is really my dream hotel for the price. Highly recommend for family stay. Breakfast is really good. Staff are so friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyatisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this brand new facility. We were surprised to find a full kithchen with dishes , stove, and ice box. The room was very comfortable. the location was great and we enjoyed a meal at the adjacent restaurant. All staff members were very helpfaul. The breakfast was good, but the area was small so we took out tray to the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

After spending all day traveling and touring the area, we didn't expect to have a hard time finding a room in Rapid City. We finally got into the Mainstay Suites after the Sleep Inn sent us over. The price was pretty high, but we were out of options. Once we got to our suite, we understood the price. The room was large and beautiful with two queen-sized beds and a living area. We made good use of the kitchen since we didn't get in early enough for dinner and just popped some popcorn from our snack bag and ate some fruit. It was so nice to have real dishes and a full refrigerator with ice (no ice machine to hunt down). My daughter tried out the pool which was my only complaint - the hotel directory in the room said the pool was open 24 hours, the sign on the door said until midnight, but shortly after we were at the pool, we were told that after 10 pm only guests 16 and above can swim. Please post this information. Breakfast in the morning was fine - fruit, eggs, cereal, etc. I wish we could have taken this room on the rest of our vacation. I will look for more MainStay Suites in my travels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank where2next2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at Main Stay Suites in Rapid City. We had 2 rooms, one for myself and one for the entertainer I manage. He was a guest performer at the Central States Fair. The hotel was extremely nice and included everything you could want. Everyone was so helpful especially the front desk host Tabbitha who checked me in. She was extremely courteous, helpful with local information and greeted me every time she saw me with a pretty smile. Being in the entertainment business I travel for a living, and so I've seen everything in the way of customer service. I am upper tier in several frequent stay programs like Hilton but this property was fantastic and I would rank it right up there among the best. I would highly recommend Main Stay Suites in Rapid City, SD and stay there again when and if I am back in the area. Thanks, Tabbitha, your infectious kind smile always made my day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room was just wonderful. We had a great night sleep! We were lucky to find this hotel, everywhere else we went was sold out. We had a suite, which had a wonderful little kitchen area. I will definitely stay at this hotel again if in Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Rapid City

Property: MainStay Suites Rapid City
Address: Outfitter Road Next to 3231 E. Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your MainStay Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing