We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer Selection”

Independent Ale House
Ranked #1 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The first real tap room in Rapid City, an oasis for beer afficianados.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The place was packed but still felt cozy. Amazing beer selection and pretty delicious pizza. It was a great place to relax after a long cold day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enrdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    140
    22
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious flatbread pizza”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff. Our server was very knowledgeable about both beer and wines on the menu and was very helpful with her recommendations on both. We also ordered a flatbread pizza which was delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good service...happy people”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

friendly server, good food and Happy Hour great flat bread pizza and many beers on tap wine selection is great!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDTRUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A reason to visit rapid city! A true gem!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A great place to come to. Dropped by on a Thursday while passing through. The city was having a street party so busy atmosphere and lots of people. Had a great selection of beers on tap, and all very well priced. Only had cheese dips, which hit the spot. Everyone else was having pizza, looked great and again all well priced. I must advise sitting at the bar, the bar staff were great, offering all types to try and good convo too. I would suggest asking for john! Spent the whole night till the little hours, by which time the staff were all out and chatting, even got a local brewery hat!
Very friendly place. You would be stupid not to visit if in rapid city!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's on tap?”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Sadly, no IPA on tap the day we visited but that is the nature of a place with rotating beer taps. I was offered something comparable but, it did not thrill me. My husband had a beer that he liked very well. We ordered a flat bread-type appetizer and enjoyed that very much with our brews.
It's a big bar with tables available. It's a typical, comfortable bar and I would return if I ever find myself back in Rapid City, SD. The bartender was nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AccidentalTourist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independent Ale House also viewed

 
Rapid City, SD
 

Been to Independent Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing