We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Selection!”

Independent Ale House
Ranked #1 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The first real tap room in Rapid City, an oasis for beer afficianados.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Selection!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place has always been one of my go to places when I want to relax or meet friends and BS. Enviroment is perfect, they recently opened a downstairs, and the BEER selection is great! highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    140
    22
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Interesting place”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just a beer and wine bar with a nice selection. If you can handle having the staff drinking while they are working check the place out. Would recommend going early before the staff has a few too many and the level of service drops

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamabell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place is a real gem in downtown Rapid City!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow... this was a great surprise. If I lived in Rapid City, I'd be a regular of this place. We parked right out front... doesn't get more convenient than that. What a fabulous selection draft beers... wonderful. The waitress was very knowlegeable about each of the beer offerings and offered tastes of the ones we were interested in. She was an excellent waitress... positive, accomodating, and efficient. The pizza was just excellent... think we got one called "3 little pigs" or something close to that.... delicious and perfect with the beer. Love the atmosphere and the bar. I'll be back to this place if I'm back in Rapid City. Highly recommend the Independent Ale House.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank florida_ratingsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great pizza, casual dining in downtown Rapid City”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stumbled across this place while on vacation in Rapid City with my family. It wasn't exactly what we expected when we walked in - we thought it would be more of a typical brew pub but in fact it was more of a bar. The only food they serve is pizza, but the pizza was excellent, and it was no problem at all going in there with our 6-year old daughter. The environment is nice and casual, and not at all noisy like many brew pubs are.

They have quite an extensive menu of specialty pizzas. They are basically individual pizzas, but we found that two pizzas for the three of us (two adults and one 6-year old) was just the perfect amount of food. The pizzas are thin crust and are made fresh to order - very tasty. Our daughter especially enjoyed the "Three Little Pigs" pizza which featured three different meats. We also tried a vegetarian pizza (I can't remember the name) but it had spinach and artichoke hearts on it - also very delicious. They have some very unusual ones on the menu like the Caesar which basically looks like a Caesar salad on pizza crust. We didn't try that one but saw a couple of them being served and they looked quite good.

If you're into beer, they have quite an extensive beer menu, many of them on tap. And these aren't your big name brand beers - there are a lot of unusual craft beers available on tap.

I found prices to be very reasonable. We fed our family of three for under $30 and that included two pizzas and one beer (the other two people just drank iced tea). Service was also good, especially considering it is a bar and not really a full service restaurant.

I would definitely return if I was in the mood for some good, fresh baked pizza.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandrfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“An oasis for beer geeks”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

In downtown Rapid among an eclectic collection of shops and restaurants is this tap house with 28 rotating taps and over 100 bottles. I was there for their advertised craft beer festival, which wasn't really a festival, just a new selection of guest taps. An overhyped event in the Balck Hills, surely not. Anyway, the selection was very good. I went with the mystery choice in the barrel mini-keg in the table. It was SchellHeffe, surprisingly tasty, even without fruit garnish. I chatted with one staff member after I made a comment about noticing a bottle of SA Utopia on an out-of-reach shelf. We discussed styles and current events, nice to see they have staff that knowledgable about the craft. Stop on in for a pint or 3.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independent Ale House also viewed

 
Rapid City, SD
 

Been to Independent Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing