We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great entertainment and surprisingly family-friendly atmosphere.”

Fuji Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
Ranked #37 of 264 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recently opened in Rushmore Crossing shopping area, Rapid City, South Dakota
Pierre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great entertainment and surprisingly family-friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I was a little concerned about taking our young children (4 and 7) but was pleased to find a children's menu and enough "entertainment" to capture their fascination throughout the meal. The food was delicious and the service was prompt. Beverages were refilled in a timely manner and we promptly received our bill. It was a positive experience and I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCC57501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    77
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste like a bad Chinese restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The food tasted like its bombarded with salt and sugar! It didn't taste Japanese, not even a little! The food was bad but the showmanship of the cooks are at least good, and the place looked nice! If you are looking for good Japanese food this is not the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanielov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sat at the sushi bar with the wife and had a wonderful lunch. The food was excellent as well as the service and the grill section was full with people waiting even and this was after 1pm on a Saturday.

Maybe living in a town with limited dining opportunities for the last 9 months has ruined my gastronomic sensibilities but i thought everything was wonderful.

We will be stopping back for more!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giardialamblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, south dakota
1 review
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I went here once and the service was FAST! the food was great! we had two choices of a regular table or the habatchi grill thing and we chose the table. we decided to do the grill next time because there were groups of people having a bunch of fun, the chef was singing songs and everyone was clapping and laughing and singing along. it looked so fun! We both ordered the teriyaki chicken, which was the best teriyaki chicken i've ever had. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who asks about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambernaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity,SD
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been wanting to eat here for a while. We took my brother here around Christmas time on a Thursday night. The place was packed and we had to wait about 30 minutes.
We sat at the grill with some other folks. Our chef was not having a good night. He never smiled once or acknowledged us as all. My brother order the filet, husband order the scallops and I ordered filet & scallops. The chef completely forgot our scallops. After all the food was cooked and served, he asked if there was we needed. We said we ordered scallops. They were brough to the grill later and cooked. But by then we were full from rice and vegetables. So we took them home in a box and they were not good re-heated the next day. It was pretty disappointing. I have no reason to return. I think our bill for the three of us was $80 and we each had one beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fuji Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing