We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foothills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foothills Inn
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent 8 nights while traveling over 1500 miles. Clean and comfortable - great rate. Friendly staff. No elevator but this is older property. On request our room was changed to first floor. Very basic breakfast - cold cereal, toast and muffins. Perkin's is next door with full breakfast. Only 1/2 block from I-90 makes this property very well located. We would recommend this hotel for anyone who does not feel the need for a name brand hotel and amenities. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobY5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    103
    50
    19
    15
See reviews for
89
101
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from trip to Rapid City area, staying at Foothills Inn. Rooms were clean, very large and beds comfortable. Motels staff very helpful and friendly. Terry, Motels manager very friendly and accomadating. Would highly recommend this accomadation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellian_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Foot Hills Inn. It was reasonably priced, easy to find(just off I90), and near restaurants. The rooms were roomy and clean. The king sized sheet did not fit too well, but not a big deal to us. We would recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to the Black Hills. The staff was very helpful and there is a kiosk to check on flights...that was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Breakfast was so basic that we did Perkins next door. Had to know to ask for cellophane-wrapped egg biscuits. Went down at 5:00 to read and was told coffee wouldn't be available til 6:00 (as published). Maids missed us. Extra towels were stationed net to check in Location good. No elevator. Well lighted parking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not the greatest hotel - appearances can be deceiving. Upon check-in I was met by a very nice staff woman who went above and beyond in pointing out dinner options, attractions, even gave me a map for the hotel. I had asked for a king sized bed but ended up regretting it.

The sheet was way too small for the bed. I don't want to have to wake up at 2 am because the sheet is off the bed curling around me. It happened three times. The bed itself is two singles pushed together with a king sized mattress and old mattress pad thrown on top. Just get the proper sheet size, what is so hard about that?

Breakfast was a joke. Cold cereal in plastic tubs, toast was a small bag of wheat bread that looked like they got it from a food pantry, and mini muffins that were out all the time in the front lobby anyway. And their sign advertises a continental breakfast outside.

The television was old and the picture was bad. The only bright spot of this trip was seeing Mt. Rushmore which is about 35 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahwebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Foothills Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the trouble you had with your bed. We will be passing along your comments to our staff. We appreciate the review and hope you enjoyed your time in Rapid City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Need some updating and it's a little out of the way from landmarks BUT this place had all the amenities that most hotels have. Great staff and service, clean rooms and value. Right by the main freeway was a plus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianlperalta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Foothills Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Adrian, thank you for taking the time to review! We are so proud of our staff and appreciate everything they do. We will see you the next time you stay in Rapid City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. The decor is dated, but the pool looked nice. It was clean and neat but lacked the bright newness we have become accustomed to. The price was less than one of the bigger chain motels, so we got what we paid for. I would stay here again but without the grandkids next time.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pimadosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Foothills Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review! We're glad our staff was able to make you and your family feel welcome upon arriving. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#31 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Inn

Property: Foothills Inn
Address: 1625 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Foothills Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Foothills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing