We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foothills Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foothills Inn
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“All you need.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Actual rating = 2.5

There is not an overwhelming selection of lodging in Rapid City, it would be difficult to do much better than the Foothills Inn. The staff on the phone and in person were nice and professional. The room we had on the second floor was large, clean and quiet (we were on the backside of the building). There is no elevator. The first floor rooms are more expensive, apparently because they've been renovated. The hotel hotel is near the freeway, very easy to find. The Foothills has no guest laundry which is quite inconvenient because there is no where close by to do it. Having an outdoor pool is an awesome addition during the warm summer months, a place to relax and stay cool. We assume staying cool in Rapid City in January is never a problem, an outdoor pool may not be as relaxing then. There is an excellent mini golf course (Pirates Cove) across the street and lots of food choices within a short drive's distance. The Foothills Inn has all you need in motel but not too much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    83
    44
    19
    14
See reviews for
74
83
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We didn't book any rooms ahead of our trip, and when every other hotel in the area was booked, they had 2 rooms available, but none of the other hotels bothered to point us in this direction, only other big chains. To our surprise, it was the lowest priced, cleanest, and largest hotel room we had our entire 4 days in the Black Hills area. Beds were comfortable, and 4 pillows on each queen size bed was nice. The breakfast was fairly limited: cold cereal, toast, juice and coffee, and the like. But if you ask the front desk, they will grab a frozen sausage sadwich for you to heat up in the microwave. We were not able to use the pool (which is outdoors), as it was downpouring that evening, but it looked clean and others seemed to be enjoying it as we checked out in the morning. If you are going to be staying in Rapid City, this would be an excellent choice, i think the big chain hotels were jealous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant City, Mssouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I appreciate finding a convenient "Pet Friendly" hotel but...we got a "pet room" which reeked of urine when we opened the door. There was a huge stain, I would say from a very large dog, in the middle of the floor. I have seen other reviews about this place being pricey, but from our experience with vacationing in the area, especially with a pet, that $110 is really a good price. The continental breakfast was pretty minimal, toast and cold cereal was all I saw so we went to the Perkins which was right next door. The rooms and hotel appearance are very nice and I like having coffee pots in the room. If we had had kiddos I know they would have enjoyed the pool. As for all the "fluffy" pillows...4 to each bed...very inviting but they were hard as rocks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bgrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay; it was affordable and close to Mt. Rushmore. Breakfast is okay; be sure to ask for a sausage biscuit from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are ever in Rapid City be it on a bike or any other mode of transportation you got to stay at this Place. The hospitality, and service is bar none. Marie is the woman to ask for. She is top notch in customer service. The rooms are clean, cool, and maid service is excellent. The pool outside is also a welcome site after a long hot day of riding the harley. We were here during the week of July 15 2012- July 20 2012, temperatures soared to 110F, so pool, cool rooms and entry, and workers were always a welcome sight. Also special parking for bikers. When in this beautiful state, be sure to visit Black Hills Harley Davidson,,, awesome peoples. And be sure to do the Needles highway, and Iron Mountain..bring camera...lol! Also this place is seconds off the main highway. Very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleyonlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights. Room was okay, the carpet could use a deep cleaning and many dead moths on window sill but other than that the housekeeping was good every day. AC worked great and it was 100+. Kids liked the pool, but it could be cleaned more than once per day. Beds were comfy with lots of fluffy pillows. We were upgraded for no additional charge. Breakfast was adequate for our needs. Front desk staff was helpful. Owner was yelling at housekeepers one morning using $&@? language in front of my kids, so that was not too cool. So there was good and bad about this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Due to crazy weather, we were delayed a night in Houston-- but they were willing to not charge us for that first night we would be missing. On top of that, they also let us check in early the day we did finally arrive. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed staying there while visiting Mt. Rushmore and other sites in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKJen907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#31 of 53 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 53 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#4 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#29 of 53 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Inn

Property: Foothills Inn
Address: 1625 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Foothills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Foothills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing