We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, comfortable, unique, natural setting in Rapid City”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

My company looked for a beautiful enviroment for several "Practical Intuition" events. We needed a homey, comfortable, unique and natural setting in Rapid City. We wanted a view and an efficient staff that would relieve me of the details and Canyon Lake Resort provided that and more.
We used the privacy of their Cattail Lodge. The owners made sure everything was clean, polished and set a table of hors d'oeuvres and wine. I am making arrangements to use their facilities on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapidirishrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at Cannon lake during Sturgis this year and last year. The rooms were clean and very nice. It was quite and restful after a day of riding our bikes. Infact one day we were so tired we decided to sleep in and it was very peacful and restful. We will be going back in 2008 again, The staff are very friendly and we had a great time.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank ttwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

I am sorry to say that things did not go well this trip. We just got back from a week in Rapid City and spent most of it at this motel where I have stayed many times in the past several years. Our room was not serviced at all. We had to ask for new towels, etc. Not sure what is going on, but I hope next year things will be better.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from an otherwise wonderful trip to the Black Hills, where we had the misfortune of spending two nights at the Canyon Lake Resort in Rapid City. (I use the word "resort" here only because it's an offical part of the property's name; this mom and pop motel is like a resort in the way that Velveeta is like cheese.)

Years ago (many now) we stayed here when it was the Lake Park Motel.
Then it was rustic but well-maintained, clean and quite charming. It now has the feel and appearance of being owned by absentee landlords.
Our room was run down; the air conditioner was badly overmatched for our two-bedroom cabin and we did not even get maid service. (We reported the problem and were given some fresh towels while we were at dinner, but the beds were not made or the bathroom cleaned.) The tiny swimming pool -- a key to enjoying a summer vacation -- was closed and full of mud. Altogether it was a sad and derelict place. And all this for $150 per night. You'd do better to sleep in the park.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otterboy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We were not able to actually stay at the Lake Park Resort Motel, but we did have reservations to stay there. My nephew's wedding was planned for Rapid City. A month before the wedding date, he was in the hospital with a rare liver disease that required surgery, and his doctors told him he should not travel. We called the hotel to cancel, and they were SO understanding of the situation!

(Unlike another place, Lake Park Campground, where reservations were made, and they charged each person $25 for cancelling; even if the rooms were rebooked!!!)

If I am ever in the Rapid City area, I do plan on stopping in at Lake Park Resort Motel, to personally thank them for their kindness, in a very difficult situation!

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We usually stay in a hotel but the Lake Park resort motel was very clean. It is owned by a family that was very friendly and they were very helpful. They also had paddle boats that were the most clean and well-maitained paddle boats I have seen. The view was very peaceful. My son did not like that it did not have high speed internet but since we met another family, it was quiet for us to have a quiet time.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mull1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2003

We have stayed at this little motel 3 times now. It is very clean and
quiet and very inexpensive. Located right on Canyon Lake. It is older
and not at all fancy.

8  Thank BernieOmaha_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
4.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 49 in Rapid City
617 reviews
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 49 in Rapid City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
7.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
13.6 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 19 in Rapid City
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: $62 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing