We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a small one bedroom cabin. The large trees and green spaces that surrounded the cabin are lovely. The resort is located near Canyon Lake which is a beautiful area of Rapid City.

The cabin was clean but is in desperate need of basic maintance. The furnance rattled everytime it kicked on. It was loud enough that it kept us awake at night. The lighting is terrible. I took the shades off the lamps to try and see well enough to put makeup on; that wasn't very successful. The outlets in the bathroom didn't work. There was an gap underneath the front door. The gap was large enough to allow leaves to be blown into the cabin with the door closed. We put a towel under the door to block the wind & leaves and the towel bas blown away.
It was nice to be able to cook a basic breakfast in the morning and the having a fridge was a bonus.
I would recommend Canyon Lake Resort if you are looking for very basic accomdations at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. Although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satisfy every customer. We do rely on our guests to alert us to maintance issues so they can be corrected. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention especially on the furnance, the rattle was an indication that the motor needed to be replaced, which saved the expense of a new furnance.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 146 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our stay in the Cattail Lodge was bitter sweet. The folks there were very kind and generous in helping us get rooms for family members coming in to say our final farewell to mom, grandma and friend. The lodge was perfect for everyone who came in and then allowing us to stay after check out for family and friends to come back to after the burial. Thank you Canyon Lake Resort for helping us out and giving us a great place to reunite. There was an awesome view,and plenty of room for everyone.Kitchen had everything needed to prepare meals and clean up. It was a very nice gathering spot for friends and family.Thank you .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your family during this difficult time. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed during touring the Hills. the room were clean enough for us, being a cabin type room. microwave, free coffee, fridge(cold) for us, and stove/oven were fine for us. yfi was good. paddleboats for lake, and trout fishing was good. free wine tasting on wed at beautful main building. it was close to all tourism and stores. we are not picky people. staff were great with all our needs rate was not bad at all i feel. would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bet24u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed trout fishing and paddle boating. Hope to see you in the future.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a great place for a small family reunion! Our family of 20 loved the homey atmosphere and the ability to use the Cattail lodge as a central meeting place. We prepared and shared meals here and enjoyed evenings around the large table. Canyon Lake Resort has a beautiful and peaceful setting on Canyon Lake and the children enjoyed the paddle boats. There is trout fishing in Canyon Lake, big trout. There is also a great walking path that follows Rapid Creek that can be accessed from the resort. It was nice to have access to city amenities but feel like you were in the wilderness. The staff were outstanding. They promptly and pleasantly fullfilled any request. We had family visiting from Texas, California and Minnesota that thought this was the PERFECT facility for a reunion. We would definitly recommend it to others and would return for future gatherings. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if you want a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I can't understand how anyone could give this place a good review. It does have the potential to be a very nice place, and maybe once upon a time it was, but the way it has been let go is a shame. Pros: The room was large, there was a sorta kitchenette (the oddest one-piece kitchen I have ever seen), it was in a lovely location on a lake with a picnic table and gas grill right outside our door, and there was a pool. There are also paddle boats, I guess, but I never did see them. Cons: Although the only bug I saw was a spider and the sheets did appear to be clean, the rest of the room just gave the appearance of a place that suffered from neglect. The bathtub was quite literally falling apart and there were big chunks of the reflective coating missing from the bathroom mirror - as well as globs of something on it, and there was no fan in the bathroom, although there was a window that opened right on to the parking lot. We never did decide what color the carpet was supposed to be. The "kitchen in a box" was filthy - it didn't look like the drip pans had ever been cleaned or replaced. There were also no supplies in the kitchen with which to cook or eat anything other than - believe it or not - a set of filled salt and pepper shakers! The up side was that the lighting was so poor that you couldn't really see the filth. Honestly, it was like trying to put makeup on by candlelight. The beds were so worn out we felt like our heads were pointing downhill all night And you couldn't use the grill or picnic table without stepping in piles of goose poop. The pool (which I didn't use) was the smallest I have ever seen and was surrounded by weeds - inside the fence! To be fair, the cabins did look cuter and not as rundown as the motel units, but if they don't clean them any better than the motel, I still wouldn't want to stay there. The place was pretty hard to find - it's a long way from I90, which I suspect may be why it is so rundown. They either need to put some money into this place of give up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

For our annual Sturgis trip our motorcycle group moved to this location from a nearby competitor where we had stayed the previous 5 years and our business with this competitor was completely unappreciated!! HOWEVER....what a difference it was at the Canyon Lake Resort...the cabins and rooms we had were clean and beds were great!! The location is great and the property is beautiful...but the best part of the property is the staff from the top to the bottom they were wonderful...so helpful and pleasant!! I had asked to buy a Sturgis banner they had on their office outside wall at the end of the week if they were to consider selling it and at the end of our stay the owner (Mike) came to our cabin and gave it to us for staying with them and booking for next year!!! The customer service provided at this property was outstanding and there are a lot of business' that could take some lessons from them...this kind of customer service is a thing of the past!!!! We will be back....!!!!!! Thanks a bunch everyone at Canyon Lake Resort!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us. Glad to hear everyone made it home safe. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family rented the 3 bedroom cabin. It was roomie and clean. Their pool was clear. The kids had a ball with the paddle boats. Beds were great. Sheets were clean. This was our second trip there. The employees were friendly and prompt. I would go there a third time.

Room Tip: I like the cabins better than the motel because of the size of the rooms, the kitchen and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. So glad to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and paddleboats. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
615 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
605 reviews
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,573 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: $52 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing