We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with a gorgeous view”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed 4 nights and were very pleased with our accomodations.
They have a fantastic complimentary breakfast from 7-9:30 am. It's owner operated and they treat you the way a guest should be....like good friends.They have a computer in the office area that guests are allowed to use. Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. We would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Big Sky Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 615 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

Thank you SO much to Jay (owner) for mailing back my 7 yr old sons manatee stuffed animal......we just received it yesterday and he was SO excited to have it back....It meant EVERYTHING to him to have it returned to him.....appreciate your help in locating it and sending it back...Also, a huge thanks for your hospitality.....we would luv to try the family suite next time as it would be a bit more room for the 5 of us......nonetheless...we enjoyed the hot tub at night and the easy access from the lodge to our adventures the following days we stayed there.........thanks once again! We enjoyed our stay.......

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzemluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we stayed here for 1 night during our trip across Western USA. We were delighted with the views and accomodation at Big Sky Lodge. The property was clean, comfortable and we received a very pleasant welcome. The breakfast was also very good. But the best thing about this lodge is the amazing customer service. My husband forgot to pack his shoes and left them in room at the lodge. When I called the next day, the lodge were really helpful and sent the shoes onto our hotel in Las Vegas. The shoes were there ready and waiting when we arrived. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparklestuff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We spent one night at Big Sky Lodge while on a week long tour of the Black Hills and Badlands. Like many others have said, this is a no frills, outdated, cheap motel with friendly, helpful owners. The room furnishings are outdated and old. The ac made the room smell mildewy when it was running. The wi-fi signal was so weak I had to go sit outside the office to get on the internet. If you don't mind that kind of stuff, then this is a great bargain and you'll love this place. If you have room in your budget to spend a bit more, though, I'd go someplace else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sahedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Nice place. Easy to get to location. Had washer/dryer that they said we could use (we ended up at a laundromat-didn't want to inconvenience them). Small room but very quiet end room. Nice touch of fridge and microwave. Outdated bathroom but very clean. Hot tub was a nice touch and not too crowded. Family enjoyed the view from the deck. Friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaMommaYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This property is a motel on the southern edge of Rapid City. As the other posts comment, the rooms are very clean, but a but dated as to decor. And, some of the furnishings are a bit worn. The name is a bit deceiving, the property isn't a lodge or a spa. However, there is a hot tub with a nice view and the exterior of the building has a log facade. The main pluses for this property are the extremely helpful owners (Jay and Alicia)--they know a lot about the area and will point you in the right direction--and the price. The included breakfast is ok, mostly store bought baked goods, cereal, fruit, and beverages. The property doesn't have an office staffed 24 hours, so if you run into a problem (we did) you will probably need to wait until the office opens. All in all, the property is a good value for Rapid City. I would give it a 3.5 if we could give fractions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Like many others we were drawn to this property because of trip advisor. The owners greated us warmly and were happy to provide suggestions on restaurants and things to do. The property itself was bare-bones and dated. Don't expect amenities such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, laundry bags, or note pads and pens. They could easily make the room look a bit better by replacing the cracked lamp shades. They did provide a microwave and fridge, bit the fridge was not plunged in. The two bedded rooms do have a beautiful night time view of the town. An outdoor hot tub was available, but we did not use it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
316 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing