We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 1950's motel not a lodge.”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical 1950's motel not a lodge.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although this is an inexpensive motel and our room was clean, it was way too small and not comfortable. Only chairs were rolling office desk chairs. We had two small overnight bags and only room to open one. Bed so close to wall had to move sideways to get out. Not enough outlets to charge electronics. Had to walk clear around the building if you wanted to get to the hot tub, which did have a lovely view. Vending machines and ice not convenient at all. Breakfast was basically cold cereal, coffee, juice, apples and bananas. Nothing special.

If you are looking for inexpensive lodging to sleep overnight, this could be a place for you. Proprietors are very friendly and helpful but this is not a place to stay if you want comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    156
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
223
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here on our way through Rapid City based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was a bit outside of town but that wasn't a big deal for us. The view was gorgeous and the rooms were very cute. Very clean, comfortable bed, and cheaper than other hotels. Do know that it is an older building and is charming - so don't expect the same experience as a big hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room with a view if that is important to you. We didn't ask and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

There were so many good reviews on Trip Advisor for Big Sky Lodge we expected more and were disappointed. The friendly owners have obviously done a lot of work on this place and it has a lovely view---unfortunately we did NOT get a room with the view. This motel relies on being "cute" but was really not comfortable compared to other places on the market. Our room was especially small and the bed was pushed almost to the wall, thus I could not get out of bed at night without bumping into the wall---very uncomfortable. There was very little room to put our belongings--most of our bags had to go on the floor. Only one bedside table so my clock ,meds, book , flashlight and other items had to go on the floor next to the bed. Annoying! The bathroom sink had no counter, only a tiny shelf so most of our toilet articles and cosmetics went on the floor also. Our mattress was very uncomfortable so we did not sleep well. The room was very clean. We had a microwave and frig, also a small desk. Breakfast in the morning was good. The room was expensive so we were definitely expecting more. We will not return to this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this motel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We travelled from just outside Great Falls, MT to Rapid City. We arrived quite late, just before 10pm and decided to stay two nights, rather than the one night we'd booked as there is so much to see around the area. Booking the extra night wasn't a problem. The man at the desk was very pleasant. The room was quite small but comfortable. At breakfast the next morning there were two men who were a wealth of information regarding what to see in the area. You would probably need a week or more to see everything. We would stay here again.

When travelling up Tower Road our GPS said we'd arrived when we reached the road going off to the right. The motel is further up the hill, past the big satellite dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Big Sky Lodge before and have never been disappointed. Yet again, the management has made many updates and improvements since our last stay. But there are two things that just can't be improved upon........the spectacular view from the hot tub and the warm, genuine hospitality of owners, Jay and Alicia. They are always ready to share a story, give directions or make suggestions on things to see. The rooms are exceptionally clean with very comfortable beds. Beyond what you would expect in this value price range. Breakfast was very good with healthy choices as well as the old standards. Close to restaurants and fast food places and easy to get out of town to all the sight seeing venues. Big Sky Lodge is a treat all by itself if you want some quiet time to rest and relax or use it as home base for your vacation adventures. We love it and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This motel was one of our favorite stays. The management great as are the rooms. The Panoramic view is not to be missed. We liked it so much that we stayed an extra day. We found this hotel an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daziest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow! We read a super-positive review on this motel even before moving into Big Sky Lodge for one week. I wish we could have stayed two weeks. In 98 degree weather one night, the air conditioner performed wonderfully. Breakfast and the staff were equally great. The owners Jay and Alecia were so interesting to visit with and helpful to deal with. The rooms were everything anyone could want. Refrig. with spacious freezer space for our large ice pack, microwave, nice showers, plenty of closet/dresser space for our extended stay, beautiful bedspreads and décor, and clean as a whistle throughout. That was inside! The outside was a sweet experience as well. Hot tub, sitting in the quiet of the night marveling at the brilliant city lights reaching out to 100 miles away. The motel is up on the hill, and the air was clear and cooler up there than down in the heat of the city. It was peaceful, insects outside were almost none existent, and we felt completely safe up there. It is close to good restaurants and many attractions, and just off a main highway for quick arrival anywhere. Wi Fi and cell phone reception was superb, even though no phone in room. Plenty of desk space, a nice place to spend a week away from home, feeling like you are home. We had no negative issues there all week. Our only regret was we were so busy with our reunion, we did not get the time we wanted to visit with the Big Sky Lodge "family". Everyone we met there would have make a great friend. The motel can be spotted from most anywhere in the city, thanks to the nearby tall water tower. NICE! You may not find reference to this place in a travel coupon guide, but once you are in Rapid City, you will find it mentioned in most all of the local brochures. It was a great find, suggested to us by a friend. We will return some day.
S&G from Eau Claire, WI

Room Tip: East side provides the greatest view. It's only one story, so no noise from upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WISCONSINFOLKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,507 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
587 reviews
6.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
#18 of 48 in Rapid City
148 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 48 in Rapid City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Property: Big Sky Lodge
Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing