We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Big Sky for a week. The service was great. The owners were very knowledgeable of the area and gave us great places to ride our motorcycles. They are very biker friendly people. They had room for our trailer and a place to wash our bikes !!! Also a hot tub to soak in (with a fantastic view ) after a 300 mile day of riding!!!! Great place to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abcdefglmnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 618 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Amazing view of Rapid City! Awesome service felt like friends! Would stay here over and over again! Private like camping with comfort of a room.Great breakfast before heading out. Central located quick to see all the best places! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccautrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

all our needs were met. owner and staff available and helpful . the flowers were is full bloom and beautiful. everything in well cared condition. beds very comfortable, one of my main requirements. the bike cleaning station was confusing to me. I just could not see bicycles in a great number in that area. duh, it was for motorcycles. will stay again if ever in that area and indeed recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: backside rooms close to viewing area which makes you closer to hot tub, picnic area, barbecue pits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414,123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just comploeted two day stay at Lodge and room and staff could not have been nicer. Great value for money and room were clean, large, comfortable and well furnished, even refrigerator in room. Staff was helpful even letting me use office computer to print boarding passes. More than aveerage breakfast. Best place to stay in area, especially if have own transport. I did not but arranged taxis without problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCC2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Immaculate rooms. Reasonable rates in a "touristy" area. Amazing views at sunrise/nighttime. (Stay in East side rooms) Conveniently located to area attractions. Courteous, friendly & helpful owners/staff. Continental breakfast very nice. Only reason for a "4" instead of a "5" is that the TV badly needs updating. Old style. Poor picture. Wasn't a big deal to us since we were out exploring the area. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: East side has traffic but AMAZING nighttime & sunrise views. If you don't mind a little tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Check in was easy with the owners introducing themselves. Very personable. The view is great and the room was clean but very small. Had a little trouble finding space for all our luggage. The TV was an old style with a pretty poor picture. The bathroom and sink area was also very small. The harvest gold tub and shower brought back some memories. LOL. The worst thing about the whole stay was the bed. It was barely off the floor and the mattress absolutely sucked. Did not get a very good nights sleep. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Looking for a convenient 5 night stay in Rapid City near all the tourist attractions we looked at the reviews for Big Sky Lodge and found them to be very good. Our stay turned out to be great. We would recommend anyone staying in that area to use the Big Sky Lodge for a very pleasant stay. Great location, great view, great owners and great price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,577 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 49 in Rapid City
320 reviews
4.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
2.7 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Rapid City
902 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing