We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful stay!! All three rooms were clean, comfortable and a great rate!!”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We will definately stay here again! We are looking forward to our next trip to the Black Hills....

Our trip was greatly improved by our great night sleep! We were close to great places to eat and the owners were wonderful!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margalou3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 618 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

So, this is a decent motel. Although on my stay, I think my expectations were not properly calibrated for this place. It is a cheap motel. It is clean and does not smell bad. Thy hot tub was the same model your aunt and uncle have on their deck. The TV screen is smaller than the tubes and components behind it and was made in 1988. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The climate control was fussy. Having said that, I would stay here again. Just know what you are getting and that is a clean spot to lay your head at night for not much money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GloryConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located right above Rapid City in the hills, about a 10 minute drive away from downtown. Super cheap relative to the rest of the lodging in RC, and that was the initial draw for us. Room was very clean, with updated everything in the bathroom, newer heat/ac unit, fridge/microwave and a small tv. Bed was really comfortable, had some trouble with the door initially but the lady working in the office (didn't get her name) was very quick to get us switched to a different room. Located very conveniently for visiting anything in the Black Hills, or going to see anything in the Rapid City metro area. Best deal in Rapid City, we will be visiting this place in the summer for sure!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Clean room, great view over Rapid City, and close to a Ruby Tuesday ;-) An hours drive from Badlands National Park and close to Mt Rushmore as well. When we arrived we learned they only had us booked for one night instead of two, but they fixed that. Breakfast was ok as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petravv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After discovering BIG SKY LODGE on TripAdvisor, i checked in only to find reviews SPOT ON! BIG SKY is a bit off the way, but, the directions on motel website are very accurate. The owners are welcoming, room is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, and rates CHEAP. Avoid corprate room, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racorlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is ok and price is friendly but the best of all is an amazing panoramic view at night and in the early morning especially when the sun is rising!! It was spectacular! And this lodge is on the way to mount Rushmoor and other great activities, I just loved it!
And the staff person or the owner were very nice too! We didnt have any reservations and we came in after hours but we called them and we were cheched in!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auraelija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I believe this motel has the #3 rating in Rapid City because of its location out of the city and away from the chain motels on the interstate. The price is also right for the budget-minded traveler and the view is very good, especially if you like a panoramic sunrise.

On the downside, the wall-mounted heater sounds like an airplane and never shuts off - you are either roasting or freezing. If you don't need it or don't care, it's an OK place. Also the hot water ran out halfway through filling the tub, but it was OK for a quick shower the next morning.

While I prefer to stay downtown for $20 more, I would stay here over any of the chain motels located on the north side of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side if you want the sunrise. Ask for the west side if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graywolf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,577 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 49 in Rapid City
320 reviews
4.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#12 of 49 in Rapid City
1,080 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Rapid City
902 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing