We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Comfort Inn I have been to!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
raleigh, north carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Comfort Inn I have been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is an excellent property. We had some issues with the 800 reservations but the property straightened it out without a hitch. We received a free warm chocolate chip cookie when we checked in. We were very pleased w/ the cleanliness of the hotel. It still looks brand new. This property got the #1 property nation wide in 2007. The pool is clean and roomy. There is a hot tub and a sauna. Great exercise room.

You cannot beat the location. Close to anything you could need. Please go to Bear Country USA while you are there. It is awesome.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — reservations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timangelalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    99
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
89
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Fantastic breakfast (even had whipped cream for the waffles). Room was a standard queen, but was very clean and up to date. The pool was very clean, but the hot tub wasn't quite hot. The best part was the staff--one front desk clerk found a bag of ice with a wrap for my son after I shut the van door on his hand. She also recommended an excellent local pizza place, calling ahead to make sure it was open. The hotel is on the route to Custer State Park and is convenient to many local attractions (Bear Country USA, Reptile Gardens, Old McDonald's).

  • Liked — Front desk staff was helpful on several occasions.
  • Disliked — The hot tub wasn't as hot as it should be.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites for Memorial Day weekend trip to Mount Rushmore. This hotel is fairly new and in a perfect location for touring Keystone, Mount Rushmore, Deadwood and Sturgis. We had a king suite, with refrig and microwave. The room as well as the lobby area and the breakfast area were spotless. The breakfast bar featured the usual, waffles, pastries, toast and muffins. There is a Ruby Tuesday next door and across the road, Taco Bell, Wendys, and Sonic. We had another wonderful stay at a Comfort Suites.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJanusik63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during the Sturgis Rally. There were a number of other bike travelers as well as non-bikers and it was really pleasant to sit out front in the evening and chat with folks. The suite we shared with family was spacious and clean. We loved having the kitchen for light meals and snacks. The breakfast each morning offered plenty of variety. The staff was, for the most part, friendly and helpful. I used the fitness center while we stayed there and, although small, was just fine . The hotel was centrally located for us and in the evening we enjoyed a short walk to restaurants (Ruby Tuesday wasn't there at that time). If we were to stay in a hotel in Rapid City again, that would be the place.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price (charge more during Rally time in August)
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

Flew in from San Antonio to visit my father and step-mother on a quick get-a-way sight seeing tour. I arrived on a Tuesday and departed Thursday evening. I asked for and received an early check-in. Overall, I would rate this an above average Comfort Inn & Suites establishment. The hotel is clean and the rooms are large with plenty of space. Clean beddings and clean bathrooms a big plus. (My father's room was a suite that was very clean and had extras; refridgerator, microwave and couch and chair with end table) You'll be greeted with smiley faces and be able to have your questions answered regarding the local community with no hassle at all. An indoor pool was available, but I did not wet my toes. Two free newspapers (USA Today and local Rapid City News) are available at the front desk every morning. The free breakfast was very enjoyable (including hot waffles and omlettes). A Ruby Tuesday's is located next door and within easy walking distance (about 1-minute). *I would recommend the bison burger with mushrooms and swiss cheese. I recently stayed at the Quality Inn (another Choice Hotel) near the interstate late last year in Rapid City and was extremely dissappointed with that stay. This is definately the hotel I will book for my return trip to Rapid City. The only negative I could come up with is that there are no fans in the bathrooms. Places I visited: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Crazy Horse Memorial, city of Deadwood and a casino, Rapid City Mall, Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold jewelry making tour located next door to the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located on Mount Rushmore Drive, about 25 miles northeast of Mt. Rushmore. Cost: $67.49/night, two-night stay with taxes: $149.76

  • Liked — The hotel was clean and kept up. Linens and bathroom very clean.
  • Disliked — No bathroom fans.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RemembertheAlamo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for three nights in August. Overall the hotel was fine. We had several issues that were annoying but certainly wouldn't prevent us from staying there again - if we could stay on the third floor.
One - the internet in our room didn't work. This might seem trivial but we needed to log into work. Manager couldn't get his laptop to work either. They promised to have it fixed and later blamed our laptop.
Two - Also the people above us sounded like they were diving off the bed. We asked that someone have them stop and they told us they would be checking out the next day. The next group in was even louder. Ceilings are paper thin.
The room was clean and a nice size. Two queen size beds, a sitting room and a small fridge.
The pool area seemed to be brand new. Nice jacuzzi and sauna -both spotless.
Breakfast was fine if you liked waffles - only hot offering. Cold cereal, bread, etc. Ruby Tuesday in the parking lot was good for dinner after sightseeing all day - nice not having to get back in the car.
Sign in the lobby said "Voted best Customer Service for Comfort Suites in the country". Not bad but certainly not memorable.

  • Liked — Room was large and clean. nice pool
  • Disliked — Having to involve hotel staff in getting a problem fixed they weren't able to help with.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LIkestoTravelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

Car trip from Chicago to Boise w 2 children. Booked hotel based upon other reviewers and it lived up to its billing. This property was clean, efficient, and located on Hwy 16 direct to Mt Rushmore. With temperatures soaring in the 100s - the indoor pool was a big hit after a hot day of sightseeing. Breakfast was great with sufficient offerings for all. Stayed 2 nites based. Rooms had microwave and fridge. What more could you want? Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#14 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#37 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701-6300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#19 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing