We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home base for visit to the Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good home base for visit to the Black Hills”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Comfort Inn & Suites, Rapid City

Good…
Easy to find and on the direct route to the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore
Close to downtown
Excellent and friendly service
Large spacious rooms – we had two queen beds
Clean and without any maintenance issues
Reservations made on-line – no check in or check out issues
Breakfast was typical hotel fare – it was well stocked and plenty of places to sit
Free wi-fi!!!!

Not so Good…
The pillows were really poor –too soft and small
We didn't know that we could have requested an upgraded room with a refrigerator/microwave
We didn't like the sink out outside of the bathroom (good for kids, not so good for adults)

Overall a good place stay, no regrets staying at the Comfort Inn & Suites

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msp2phl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Hotel, the cleanliness and the size of the rooms. We take pride in making sure everything goes smoothly for our guests. I am pleased to announce that we are in the process of updating our bedding. In regards to any upgrades, if there is availability and you are a Choice Privledges member, we try our best to fullfill any wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    110
    40
    10
    20
See reviews for
149
100
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a king suite on the front side, highway side, of the hotel. The desk and other personnel were friendly and accommodating. The property was somewhat worn and could have been a little cleaner. The carpet in the room was older and there was dust around the areas not easily reached with the vacuum cleaner. There were fresh cookies in the lobby in the evening that were good. Morning breakfast was the usual fare. There is only one small and slow elevator in the building and the stairs are only at the far ends of the halls. The inside noises of the hotel were not a problem, but outside was another story. The trash bins were emptied one morning at 4:30 am with crashing and banging. There is a hospital nearby, so there was a fair amount of ambulance traffic. The property is well located for the area attractions. There are a fair amount of choices for dinner in the area and downtown. Be sure to get a room on the back side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on our property. We do apologize on having the garbage being picked up at 4:30am. This is a matter we will be looking into. We are excitied to announce that we will be upgrading our property begining the end of this year!
We hope you give us another chance to make a good impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We picked up this hotel on Hotwire and were pleased with our stay. The sink was outside the bathroom which is handy for us. The coffee maker looked like it hasn't been dusted in awhile but the rest of the room was clean.

Breakfast was good waffles bread bagels eggs and sausage cereal and yogurt.

We would stay here again! It is also an easy walk to Ruby Tuesday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsW8815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All of us at the Comfort Inn & Suites are pleased that you had a good experience. We take pride in our breakfast, offering something for everyone. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I made reservations with Courtney at this motel during one of the largest events in Rapid City ( Sturgis Motorcycle Rally ).and was very hard to even find a room . I was concerned with the amount of time I may have to cancel if need be, due to some medical issues.. She made it all work out perfect for me and my out of state guests. She was the most helpful person I have come across for a long time. My guests were very pleased with the facility and will definitely stay there again. Thank you Courtney, you are awesome !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you Mary for saying such kind words about Courtney. Our number 1 priority is to take care of our guests. We appreciate your loyalty to our establishment and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here while we were visiting the area attractions. They had parking in the back for our trailer that we pulled our motorcycle with. They even supplied us with a wash area for the bike and rags to clean it with. The guy in the office was very nice and very knowledgeable. Very close to the attractions. The room was super, very quiet and very clean!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lori, Thank you so much for your review on our Hotel! We all are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to keep our guests comfortable and we're glad we could do that for you during such a fun and exciting time. We hope you come and stay with us next time your in Rapid CIty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved everything about this motel! Convenient to the area attractions such as Cosmos, Bear Country and Reptile Gardens. The fitness center and pool/hot tub were great! Large pool and spa. Breakfast was the true hero at the hotel with so many options including strawberry waffles!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creightonomahane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient location of our Hotel, and after a long day of sightseeing we're pleased we could accommodate you with our pool and hot tub. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and had such a great stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Checked in early plus easily accomodated splitting the bill. Not only is it close to everything (Sturgis, Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood / Spearfish) but the staff helped in everyway, from room to laundry to meals, motorcycle washing station, and parking under the awning ...etc., etc., etc.

Highly Recommend !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
George, We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here during the Rally! We know how hectic it can be so we're glad we could accomadate you and your needs making your time here comfortable and easy. Hope to see you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Rapid City
28 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
991 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701-6300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#19 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing