We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay...clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed on a trip home from WA state. Great place that with purchasing a roll-a-away bed for $10.00 will accommodate 5. We're told it would be brought up but when we returned from going to Mt. Rushmore, it was still not there. Gal at front, Hayden, I believe her name was, didn't seem too thrilled to help us out. Overall, it was nice and the gentlemen working there were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: There are a lot of places to eat right around it and it's very close to Mt. Rushmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beastofburdenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 362 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, and here is why:

We made a reservation on the 13th of June, to stay the night of the 14th. We asked at the time if it would be possible for an early check-in, as we had to check out of our current place at 10 a.m. The woman we talked to said that could probably be arranged, and for us to just come over in the morning and they would accommodate us.

At about 10.30 the next morning, we stopped in at Comfort Inn. The room wasn't ready and we were told to come back at 12. This was fine with us, we really hadn't expected it to be ready then.

We went out and did a little bit of shopping.

At 12.30 (two hours later) we went back and the room still wasn’t ready.
"When will it be ready then? We had asked for an early check-in and were told that we could have one."
The girl who was working there (not the one we'd spoken to on the phone) rolled her eyes, then said, "Come back in about 20 minutes. Or you could come back at 3." (Meaning: quit bothering me.)
When we again mentioned we had been told we could have an early check-in, she cut us off, and said, "Well the cleaners aren't here! The room isn't ready!"
"And where are they?"
"They're on lunch! They have to eat you know!"

We decided to cancel our reservation after that. We got a room at a Super 8, and while the decor there left something to be desired, the cost was about $50 less, and the reception we had there was helpful, friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank sunset07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCityComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and others. I am sorry to hear that you left our hotel dissatisifed. As hard as we try to accommodate every special request-every time, there are times that it just cannot be met. This is the perfect example. Please realize that our normal check in time is 3PM. When we are 100% full there will be times an early check in just isn't possible.

All of our staff stives to always give the best customer service possible, so I apologize if you feel you were treated with anything less then exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a recent cross country road trip during my stop to visit Mount Rushmore (which is roughly a 30 minute drive away). It was conveniently located off the freeway and worked perfectly for my trip. Many restaurants are within walking distance including some chain restaurants. (There is a Starbucks about a mile away)

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and there was free breakfast and wi-fi. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have spent two weeks in the last three months on business in the Black Hills, both times I stay at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Rapid City. The hotel is well maintained and very comfortable, the staff is excellent! The front desk and housekeeping staff are responsive and were eager to ensure my stay was the very best it could be. I was able to complete significant amount of work in a nice environment, centrally located for ease of travel from meeting to meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on June 2013. The room was good. The beds were good. However, a refrigerator and a microwave were NOT provided. The breakfast was perfect. We liked waffle with strawberry topping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had a 2 night weekend stay with my fiancée recently and found the service to be very friendly and helpful overall, including the on duty manager, night receptionist, and check-out clerks. The rooms were comfortable and reasonably cleaned prior to our stay and everything seemed to be in order. The breakfast spread had a nice selection and was decent for being a hotel breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAndBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We traveled with 4 other couples to begin a bicycling trip from Rapid City into Custer State Park. We stayed two nights - one on the front end of our trip and another at the end. The front desk and reservation staff were all top-notch! They allowed us to "take over" a back room in their dining area for our afternoon social hours where we discussed our plans. And on the last day when we arrived on our bikes, too early for check in, they let us bring our bikes inside while we waited for the rooms to be ready. The entire facility is fabulous - beautiful, large rooms, very nice breakfast room with an excellent hot breakfast each morning, and warm cookies in the afternoon! Steve even came to our group to let us know the cookies were ready! Hayden had helped with our reservations and each time I called I had excellent service. I didn't get her name, but another person working the front desk went out of her way to give us information on a sports store that could help us with repairs should we have a breakdown. We felt very well taken care of and this experience will make me choose a Comfort Inn more often in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikemikeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
4.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#12 of 48 in Rapid City
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
94 reviews
4.8 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#20 of 48 in Rapid City
383 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701-6300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#17 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $73 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing