We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good base for the badlands area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good base for the badlands area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights in room 324. Everything was great except for a definite mold smell in the bathroom. The room was a suite with two TVs, microwave, and mini fridge. The breakfast was basic in nature and acceptable. The front desk was very helpful about places see and what is still open.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beavscabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    98
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
124
88
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I rarely give 5 stars to anything, but this place deserves them. I've stayed a week in a very comfortable suite, complete with comfortable furniture and kitchenette. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a nice view of the grasslands. I needed to work as well as visit a relative, and the internet has been great. The lovely indoor pool, hot tub, and exercise room are very welcome. The staff is friendly, and the breakfast is ample and varied. I asked for a quiet room and was assigned one at the end of the hall.

The price is very reasonable here, at least during October, which is a spectacular month with the aspens blazing yellow. Very high value.

I do like to walk and don't have a car while here, so I wish there were sidewalks to the hotel on Mt. Rushmore Rd. That said, the beautiful West Boulevard historic homes district is nearby once you get off the main road.

Room Tip: end of hall on 2nd floor facing the back is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larchMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good location for seeing Black Hills area. Clean, good service, and good breakfast. Quiet and away from traffic. Large rooms with micro and frige. Do not like the little, puffy pillows the hotels are using. The always available coffee and evening fresh baked cookies was a nice touch. The price was reasonable for a tourist area. Would deffinately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in a suite, for 4 days, for a great price. The pools were wonderful, great breakfasts and helpful staff. Close to all the Black Hills visitor sites I recommend this hotel as one of the best on our whole 2-week vacation! And Rapid City had a lot to offer to the tourist.

Room Tip: The suite was great for a several day visit, less claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Access from I-90 is easy but this is off the busy roads of the city. It is on the main road into the Black Hills for getting to Mt. Rushmore, Hill City, Custer, all the scenic driving in the Hills. Various range of rooms at this location, the basic 2 queen room has no refrig or micro but the price reflects this so it is reasonable. The breakfast is generous and attractively set up, hot items tasty, and the seating for breakfast is well done. Nice staff is helpful with any kind of question you think up. Had a 1st floor room within 5 doors to the lobby and was never troubled by noise. Added alot to our overall great vacation trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMA6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

10/3/12
2 queen partial suite
microwave, Mini Frig. and Wetbar.
Free wifi

Comfortable beds
Sitting area with couch
Table with 2 chairs
Easy Chair
Very Clean

No Desk
You could hear any sound from the hall as if it were in the room.
In the morning begining at about 8:15am, the maids were working in that area, talking loudly, vacuuming and making sure anyone asleep was awake. We did tell the front desk and they appologized and that something would be done.

Courtesy Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anselrte66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was in a great location for the tours we had signed up for. The room was clean and comfortable and cleaned when we asked for it. Do not like the little pillows that the hotels are using now, very uncomfortable. Staff was pleasant to deal with, Best feature was the guest laundry. We still had 10 days of vacation in different cities and being able to laundry the dirty clothes we had so far was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701-6300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#19 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing