We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived in Rapid City after a long drive from Estes Park. Unfortunately, I didn't put the hotel address in my GPS-system before leaving... when we arrived in Rapid City, it couldn't actually find the address... The hotel is built on such a new area that the road is not yet mentioned on the latest Garmin and Google maps. Luckily, however, Google put us close enough to then find the hotel on sight.

Reception was very nice, check-in quick and efficient, so we were soon into our big room. The bed was great, and I loved the separate seating area with additional TV and desk. It has a modern look, and is very comfortable.

The only (minor) downpoint for us was the fact that the room key expired each day of our 3-night stay, making us head down to reception each day, after finding out it doesn't work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ard70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are so sorry that GPS has failed us both, but we are glad you elected to persevere. We think that we are the nicest hotel in Rapid City, and we love to hear when a guest was pleased with our product. We are most definitely working to correct the key issue you experienced, and have retrained the desk staff to correct it. Our apologies for the issue. Please come back and let us demonstrate how your feedback has helped us improve our service delivery.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    175
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
316
315
29
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my 2nd stay in Cambria Suites and was very impressed with the service that we were given this time. Was surprised that the pool was open 24 hours a day so after a late evening it was great to relax. The room was very nice too. 6 pillows with our king room! Lucas who is at the property during late evening hours was also helpful with getting more towels and questions about where to visit in the city. Shawna and Tony took care of a housekeeping issue that we had very quickly. Very impressed overall with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Lucas, Shawna, and Tony were thrilled to know that they made an impact on one of our guests. Personally, I appreciate that you came back to stay with us, as to a manager that is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent room with two flat screen TV’s.

Recommend room away from I-90.

Things to see in and around Rapid City: Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Minuteman control center and silo, Crazy Horse, Bear Country, Wildlife loop Custer State Park, Prairie (sod house) and town of Keystone.

We prefer casual dining and can recommend the following:

For dinner: Firehouse Brewing Company; Murphy’s Pub and Grill

For Breakfast: Tally’s Silver Spoon

Room Tip: Request rooms away from I-90!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffK7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We are glad you got to enjoy many of our local attractions. We hope you get an opportunity to return and enjoy both our hospitality and our city.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Cambria Suites is a nice, new hotel right off the highway. Soundproofing was excellent. Staff was vey personable and helpful. Room was a nice size with 2 flat screen tvs. It was a little difficult to navigate around the large furniture. The king bed was very comfortable, but it was in a fairly tight space, and I had to squeeze by the air conditioning/heating unit to get in/out of bed. An interesting touch: there was an odor from the sink I asked them to address. When we returned from our day out, there was a chocolate wrench on the sink edge--and a fresh smelling sink!
We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed dinner--everything was fresh and high quality. The wait staff was really friendly and prompt. Breakfast was good. We ordered off the menu as the buffet looked like it had sat out for awhile.

I would have no hesitation staying here again or recommending it as an excellent value and really nice, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a new hotel under construction next door (to the west). We had an east-facing room and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbugsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for all the feedback. I'm glad you got the opportunity to experience one of our chocolate tools, but I apologize that you had an issue that required our team to address. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again, and we appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cambria Suites in Rapid City. The rooms were very nice & all the food was good. what really makes this a special place is the staff - from the manager on down everyone is very helpful & kind. My mother is handicapped & they couldn't have been nicer to us. They also were so great with directions & suggestions where to go & what to do. We appreciate all their help. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We hope that your 1st time, won't be your last time! Although we are not professional tour planners, we do our very best to help all of our guests plan and enjoy their time in Rapid City. We encourage all of our staff to go out of their way to help our guests find the experience they are looking for. Thank you for being our guest, and it is our hope that you return to the area.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided on this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor.
When we came into Rapid City we were very tired and upset over a very unpleasant stay in Sioux Falls the night before. We were so upset that we were almost ready to go back home from our vacation.

The first night we stayed at Cambria was so relaxing and it saved our trip. We enjoyed 3 more wonderful days at the hotel. The staff was very helpful from the manager to the immediate hotel staff. The great experience we had at this hotel made our vacation successful. We were able to experience everything we wanted to do in a very short time.

The fact the hotel was relaxing and enjoyable it greatly enhanced our vacation time. If we come back through Rapid City again we would definitely want to stay at Cambria Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are so happy we were able to help you recover your vacation. It would be a shame to cut a vacation short and miss all the wonderful attractions the Blacks Hills have to offer. We always intend to provide our guests with a stress free, worry free, and extremely comfortable environment. We hope you are able to come back and spend some time with us in the fure. Thank you for staying.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here one night during our family black hills vacation. Rooms were very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.We really liked the modern look of the room with the separate couch/TV. After a day of taking in the sites it was nice to kick back in a comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkwing_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, and we hope you had an enjoyable time taking in the sites, here in the Black Hills. We hope you can come back and stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City

Property: Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Address: 3333 Outfitter Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-7937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapid City's newest all suites hotel featuring sophisticated technology, free wireless internet access, state of the art fitness center, indoor pool, "Reflect" restaurant and lounge, Wolfgang Puck coffee in room and at Barista Bar, Bed and Bath ameneties in room, extra plush pillow top mattresses, free shuttle to airport and 5 mile radius."Grab and Go" and Refill Sundries food areas available 24 hours.All suites equipped with 2 flat screen HD televisions and microwave and refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing