We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I continue to be impressed with Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
143 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“I continue to be impressed with Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Hampton Inn continues to be my favorite budget-minded chain, and this location reinforced it. Clean room, clean property, comfortable bed, and a decent breakfast. Great chain and a great property. Kudos to housekeeping on up to the Hilton execs. It totally delivers on expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    147
    68
    40
    23
See reviews for
263
153
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

I chose this hotel for a brief trip to see Rushmore and the sights and was completely satisfied with it. I have stayed at other Hampton Inns and have always been happy with the quality and this is no excetion everything was perfect the staff were very friendly and it was very quiet at night.

I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Location is central, rooms are inexpensive and nice. Fridge, microwave in my room and large screen LCD TV with plenty of channels. Remote control for Lodgenet stinks, though. Not very responsive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We chose to stay in Rapid City for its close proximity to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer Park. The swimming pool with the twisty water slide was a major plus, and the kids played there each night.

Our room was smaller than what we were used to, but the beds were comfortable and we slept so well. The staff was terrific about getting us extra towels and pillows, and the simple, no-frills complimentary breakfast was just what we needed for our sightseeing mornings.

There were many families in the hotel, which made me feel right at home. There are many restaurants nearby, and the hotel is easy to get in and out of from the interstates to and from the local landmarks. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights, arrived late with no reservations so had to accept the price which seemed a little high for us but this is a tourist town and the kids (17 and 12) loved the pool. The pool has a slide, but there is still room on the deeper end to swim. There were not a lot of kids in the pool while we were there and at 10:00 or 11:00 they turn off the slide and the pool is only for adults, which didn't bother us because we usually tired by then. The beds were great, the room was clean, the breakfast was hot, quiet room and the location great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed one night on way home to Indiana from "out west". Had two rooms which were very adequate for the price. Rooms were clean. As stated in a previous rating, bath tub was slippery. Breakfast in the morning was not as good as other chains that I have stayed at. Place was kind of hard to find after exiting interstate. All in all, not bad for a one night stopover. Would not stay for an extended period.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

This place was not at all what we have come to expect from Hampton Inn. Very poor check-in by a very inexperienced young woman. We waited over 15 minutes while she helped the people in front of us. We had a reservation but she was on a walkie-talkie with a housekeeper, trying to determine which room she would put us in! That took over 15 minutes because she changed our location three times! The room was adequate but not very clean. It looked like it hadn't been dusted in months. The bathtub was extremely slippery - dangerously so in fact. I wouldn't stay here again on a bet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpartanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing