We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean hotel. As a Hilton Honors member it's what I've come to expect from Hampton Inn. The night desk clerk even went to the kitchen and got my son a glass of milk to go along with the complimentary cookies that are on the desk each evening. She certainly went above the call of duty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    140
    65
    37
    21
See reviews for
253
145
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staff was friendly and most helpful. I got in late and it was cold and rainy and staff gave me some snacks complimentary. Next day I had a meeting room that was terrific. The property is nice and well located near many restaurants and the I90 interstate. I ahve stay in a lot of Hampton Inns and they have been great. Love them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainsmegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was awesome. It was our anniversary so we got a suite. Clean and very comfortable. Loved the fireplace and the whirlpool. The 2 seperate rooms with there own tvs. That was nice. We will be planning on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice property-- very easy parking, nice lobby, friendly staff, nice room, excellent breakfast.

When we arrived late at night for a week-long stay, we were met by a friendly front desk associate, who made us feel welcome, collected our credit card and other info, gave us the details on where we were, and bade us good night. We arrived upstairs and entered a large, comfortable room with a king-sized bed, couch, lots of room to move around-- a very large hotel room, nicely furnished with new furniture, nice smell and quiet. So far so good.

I get a call from the front desk-- "are you missing a bag?" Yep-- left my briefcase down in the lobby. Good catch, thanks! (Whew....)

The bed was comfortable, and having a king-sized bed made it easy for us both to spread out and sleep. My wife said it was a great bed-- I have cast-iron bones, but she's picky, so this was a good review from her. Oh-- and it was quiet at night. That's MY pet peeve-- good insulation in the walls and heavy doors to block sounds from the hallway.

Breakfast was great-- hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, waffles, biscuits and gravy. No, not a four star hotel breakfast, but excellent choices and a large and comfortable breakfast area with plenty of seating so that families could spread out-- and we older folks could find a nice table as well.

The location is excellent, too-- with the other hotels and restaurants in Rapid City. The property is in a safe part of town, well lit, great parking and easy entrance and egress.

My wife said, "This was a good choice for a hotel." (From her, that's a RAVE review.)

Room Tip: Get the suite if you're going to stay for more than one night. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed one night before leaving for home. Great place and convenient to many stores. Clean and the staff was very nice. I loved the coffee and breakfast in the morning as early as 6am. My granddaugher loved the pool with the slide. Comfortable beds and large and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We checked in at downtown Rapid City refurbished very old hotel. They made us feel like 2nd class citizens. We checked out and went to the Hampton for three days and could not have had a better experience. Everything worked properly, the staff was wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just wish the beds were the more dreamy mattresses that I first experienced at the Hampton. Otherwise, the rest was all good. The fitness center was great and so was the Business Center. The cookies smelled fabulous and the complementary breakfast had a great selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mona Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing