We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Haven, United States
1 review
“helpful staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great stay, helpful staff, knowledgable about area. They had recommendations of restaurants and bars; All were good. They had recommendations of hiking trails and directions. They were friendly and attentive. Breakfast area was well kept and attended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave positive feedback regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn and our staff. We apprecaite your business and kind words. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    185
    74
    45
    28
See reviews for
315
184
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were recently in Rapid City to see the local attractions and very fortunately selected the Hampton Inn as our home away from home. The lobby has recently been updated, we had a spacious room and all areas the hotel felt clean and cared for. The staff, especially those on the front desk, were friendly, professional and very helpful with information on the local attractions as well as restaurants and shopping areas. There are many reasonably priced restaurants in close proximity and the hotel is conveniently located just off the highway. We all enjoyed the lovely hot breakfast each morning before heading out. Must say though that my favorite perk at this hotel is that they continually launder not only the sheets and pillowcases, but also the duvet covers so every guest is guaranteed a truly clean bed. Will certainly stay there again next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJandB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear PJandB2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn. Your kind words certainly provide encouragement to our staff and I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Thank you again and hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We checked in after a long drive. Front desk short handed but very sweet. People were waiting in line and she had to put phones on hold to help everyone. We checked in our room and it smelled horrible. Like someone had sprayed it with a perfume bottle. Smells trigger's migraine's for me. Went back to the front desk, again very sweet girl. Someone had come in to help her. She showed us several more rooms. All smelled musty. We have always stayed at Hampton Inn's. We had to check out and leave. Location is horrible. Not a norm for Hampton. Way over priced to boot! Want be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Dottie47

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that we were unable to provide a room to you that met your expectations, we will certainly look into this issue further. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place was very clean. The cookies were yummy. The breakfast was very convenient and tasty. The hotel is conveniently located, about 15 minutes from the airport, and very close to downtown and restaurants...and easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank RRT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear RRT98

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn, Rapid City. We appreciate your business as well as your kind review. We hope to see you again, have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We flew in from Florida to Rapid City for a 2 week "out west" vacation which included Montana and Wyoming back in June 2012 (I had to pick June 2013 to do this review). We spent 2 nights here at the Hampton Inn while visiting the Badlands, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer State Park. We didn't get to spend much time at the Inn as we were busy sight seeing but we did thoroughly enjoy our time here. The place was clean and the beds were comfortable. Not much else was needed although they did have fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Yum! The breakfast was a plus. Great selection. Very pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FCGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. We thank you for your business and hope you had a nice summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very average hotel. We were there the night of Sept 22. Although right next to the hwy US 90, it is tucked around the back and somewhat difficult to get to.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are good, it is just missing on some of the details that would make it stand out. I wanted to have a glass of wine in my room but there were only paper cups available. Went to the kitchen and the breakfast room, only paper cups. Wine in a paper cup does not sound appealing. The front desk attendant finally found a glass in the basement, saved the day.
Breakfast is average, nothing special but the scrambled eggs were overcooked to dry and the "robust" coffee was weak at best. Go figure.
The toilet in the bathroom had a toilet seat that was not well tied down, a great adventure.
The excercise room was also adequate but the stationary recumbent bike (the only piece that I used) is of poor quality and design.
The pool is excellent and has a great waterslide that would be a hit with any user. My 58 yr old wife thought it was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback. Reviews such as yours helps bring items to our attention that need to be addressed. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here one night while going to Mt Rushmore. Well located, clean property and friendly staff. We would stay here again if we were passing through. We didn't notice noise, but it is near an interstate so be oriented when checking where your room is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Hampton Inn. We are pleased that we were able to serve you and meet your expectations. We also appreciate your positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing