We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hairy duvet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hairy duvet”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

picked this hotel based on the stars it was given and its reputation of quality. deeply disappointed, no bath soap, no answer from housekeeping even the next day, hair on duvet cover and hair in soap shelf in shower. AC did not work, carpet old and dirty and room dark and musty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Anita S

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologize your room was not up to standards and will use your review as a training guide. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and please don't hesitate to let hotel staffing and or management know when you have an issue with your room. It is not only our job but our hope to bring you the best possible while you are the hotel, before you leave unhappy. Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    199
    75
    46
    29
See reviews for
330
189
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halfway, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staff is Rude,(Sarcasm should not be part of the check in process) Rooms could be cleaner, breakfast is below average. Never greeted as a Diamond Member. Refrigerator froze my medication (yes, I turned the temp. down before putting my meds in there) Did I mention that the staff is rude?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sheila E B

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your recent stay. So sorry to hear now that you experienced so many problems with your fridge and room. If myself or my wonderful staff would have known you were experiencing issues we would have been more than happy to correct the problem any way possible. Thank you again for your feedback, we will certainly look into these problems you encountered. Have a nice summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRINCE ALBERT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in 7 different hotels on our trip, but this one was our favorite.Traveled there for Sturgis Bike Week. When we arrived early before check in, Katie, was fantastic, she literally ran up to the 2nd floor and caught the maids before they went for lunch to do a quick clean on our room so we could drop our off our gear. They offered us free tubs of ice packed bottled water, a bike wash station and an evening bar outside for the guests to socialize. I know there may have been an emphasis on the bike week clientelle, but after watching Katie and the rest of the staff take care of everyone with the same courtesy and business acumen that we were shown, it was clear that it was how they operated. I would Definiteley stay here when we come back in 2015 !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatriot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Patriot27

Thank you for the kind comments about Katie and the Hampton staff! Our team is amazing and truly a group that cares. Very much appreciate your positive review, and the staff appreciates it too!
Have a good summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent front desk staff, attentive, responsive. Housekeeping staff neeed coaching.Left the room in diserpair, stated erason was items lef ton bed. Reality was items left in grabage, beer cans left, etc. But the hotel staff responded with alacrity and resolved all the issues to our satisfaction. I used Hilton Honours points to stay here for the Sturgis bike event and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel got into the spirit (can't same the same for Rapid City, alone among SD towns) and hosted a beer stand, provided a bike wash area, pylonned off asection of the lot for bikes, provided free water for the bikers and all guests. Again, the stellar cast at the desk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hiltonpointschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear HiltonPointsChamp

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Also, thank you for communicating the housekeeping issues with our staff. We never want to make a mistake during a guests stay but it does happen and we honestly want to know when something is wrong so we can correct the issue as soon as possible to make your stay great! We always want our guests leaving happy and satisfied which is why we are thankful that you gave us the opportunity to provide that. Also happy you got to enjoy our Sturgis Fun! Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was a nice location and very close to the places we were seeing while in town. I would recommend staying here for anyone. I don't think I have ever really had a bad experience yet using Hampton. You can pretty much bet on the name.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear TinaandSam

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you at the hotel and hope to see you again in the future. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, CO, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Both the Hampton Inn and Hilton Garden are part of the Hilton chain. If you look online at both in Rapid City, the Hampton appears nicer but don't be deceived. The Hilton Garden actually cost us less and we had a much better stay there than at the Hampton Inn. Directions to the Hampton Inn are difficult, it is noisier and busier and the staff was not nearly as friendly and helpful as at the Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Joan

Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying with us. We all hope you have a nice summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uta, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much here. Cookies and lemondae along with a friendly smile from Katie and the manager made the stay better. Breakfast was very big the pool was a lot of fun for the kids. Clean room and building was also nice. We will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear BrooksJ

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our team is happy to see we were able to provide you with great service and we really appreciate you acknowledging the positive! Thank you for staying with us, have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
991 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing