We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night on our way to Mt. Rushmore. It is quite difficult to get to but well worth the effort. The rooms were very clean and fresh, the continental breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We are glad we chose this hotel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Rapid City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 746 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

4 Night family stay. I noted on our reservation that we would arrive late at night and requested a roll-a-bed. When we arrived at 11pm, our room was ready and the roll-a-bed was included. Great service!!!

Room: Clean, quiet and comfortable.
Pool: Clean, kids loved the slide.
Breakfest: Nice selection and clean.

Would stay here again and would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Situated close to downtown Rapid City and surrounded by selection of good value restaurants. The hotel is in top class condition with lovely large rooms and price includes a hot breakfast. Ideal base for Mount Rushmore and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family stayed here in September for 2 nights and we had a great time. The hotel is centrally located in town, clean, nice rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff. We had no complaints. We would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Knowing that a guest's experience at our hotel was great enough to prompt them to come back is quite a compliment. The staff at the Hampton Inn of Rapid City is dedicated to ensuring that all guests would love to return. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with a great stay. Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to let us know that we succeeded in our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Rapid City, S.D. on Saturday, September 8, 2012, We had reserved a room here based on reviews written by former guests. I cannot name one negative aspect for this Inn. The employees were polite, the room spotless, the breakfast was first class and the weather was perfect. There are countless places to see and things to do in the Rapid City area, Mt. Rushmore being the premier site. Don't miss driving Needles Highway located in Custer State Park. This takes you past Crazy Horse Memorial being carved out of Thunderhead Mountain. And don't miss a tour of Wind Cave National Park. This is just a short list of interesting things to do in and around Rapid City. I suggest a week long vacation here.

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the dining room and front desk. We loved the room and the location. I thi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowlerdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

The staff at the Hampton Inn Rapid City is so grateful for your review. Not only do we appreciate your satisfaction of your stay at our hotel, we also love when guests mention the incredible scenery and fantastic venues that the Black Hills has to offer our guests. We are certainly fortunate to live in such a awesome area. We strive to make your stay at Hampton as exceptional as the area. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am usually quite pleased with Hampton Inns, this one had a few issues. Check in time is 4pm which is later than any others I have stayed with but the staff was able to get us into our room earlier in the afternoon. A nasty cleaning towel was left in our bathroom. The second day we got back o the hotel around 3:30 for a quick break before heading downtown. Our room was not made up yet and then a staff member came into the room without knocking first. We told him we would be out in a few minutes so they could do their housekeeping. When we returned later in the evening our room was still not cleaned, but the were "kind" enough to leave fresh towels in a bag outside our room in the hallway. We notified the front desk and the did apologize and offered to clean the room but it was around 8pm and past the point to clean. The next day Dawn, the GM, came to our room with a gift basket and to apologize again. We appreciated the management stepping forward to ackknowledge they have some issues and are trying to correct them. The next morning the hair dryer died a smoking death. They we able to replace it in less than a half hour.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MooseTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

The Hampton Inn Rapid City would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. The entire staff is very apologetic for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. I sincerely hope that you return to our property as we are committed to improving service for all guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We were driving coast to coast and stayed here before seeing Mt Rushmore. Great stay, great staff (especially Autumn), great breakfast and my kids love the waterside. A good value for the area and a quick drive to Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamrocKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It is always so great to hear from guests that they are very satisfied with their experience at our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how our staff performed in making your stay fantastic. Our excellent breakfast and the huge waterslide are such a hit with families. We would love for you to stay with us again sometime. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,532 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $101 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing