We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, Good hotel, Great Time in Rapid City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location, Good hotel, Great Time in Rapid City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our stay in Rapid City at the Hampton Hotel was excellent. The hotel is a standard Hampton Inn, not flashy, but consistently good. The rooms we asked for to be connected (there were 5 of us) were not available upon arrival even though I had called to request this a week prior to our arrival. Not a big deal as our rooms were close to each other on the same floor. The breakfast each morning was very good, the selection was prepared nicely and they kept everything well stocked even though it was very busy most every morning. The front desk customer service people were very nice and helpful. Our requests for local info and sites to visit were met with smiles and very good details and explanations. They even helped us book tickets for the Fort Hays Chuckwagon Supper and Show which we enjoyed very much. The hotel is located conveniently near the interstate and numerous resturants and shopping. We were able to get to all of the attractions and venues that we wanted to see without any problems. If your travels require a stay in Rapid City this an excellent choice for your night's sleep and your day's activities.

Room Tip: First floor rooms allow easy access to pool without going up and down the stairs or waiting on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orccim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
It is always so nice to have guests appreciate our efforts to make their stay fantastic! The Hampton Inn Rapid City is very grateful for the positive review. We strive to deliver a clean, friendly, and memorable environment to make your vacation to the Black Hills top notch. We would love for you to return to be assured that our excellent service and accomodations are consistent. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    147
    68
    40
    23
See reviews for
263
153
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very nice facility with friendly staff. Comfortable beds with freshly cleaned linens. We arrived after midnight after a very long day on the road and were grateful that our reservations were in order.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalot6285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
The Hampton Inn Rapid City greatly appreciates the time taken by you in reviewing our property. We are so happy that your stay was a positive experience. The entire staff works hard to create a wonderful environment for our guests. Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Rapid City. This hotel met our needs; however, I was expecting a little nicer property for the price we paid ($360 for only two nights). We could stay much cheaper at a much nicer hotel in Hawaii! So I was really expecting a much nicer property than what it was. It was actually probably one of the middle of the road Hamptons instead. The hotel is about an hour drive from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. It's also about an hour from Wall Drug and the Badlands so it is a good location. There is only one small elevator which we seemed to almost miss every time because it was such a small area for it. Breakfast seating has much to be desired! This is the area where most improvement is needed. For a family of five, I was not sure any of us were going to be able to sit to eat and especially not together! The bfast bar area is extremely small and tight. Seems they could get rid of the large chairs and add many more smaller chairs and tables to accommodate everyone. However, the staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly!! The bfast ladies were great and never slowed down the entire time. The swimming pool with a fun waterside was a blast for the kids!! They loved it and may say that was their favorite part of the trip! The fitness room was a very small room on the second floor which I found strange, but it was adequate. Overall, it was a good stay and will return to this property with hopes it won't cost so much in the future!

Room Tip: The pool area is two stories. I would request a room on the opposite end from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
The staff at Hampton Inn Rapid City would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are dedicated to making your stay wonderful. The suggestions and comments provided are much appreciated. The renovations in the lobby and breakfast area were intended to increase seating as the lobby seating now includes additional tables. We sincerely hope that you visit our property in the future as we are constantly working to better our facility and service. Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two weeks ago at the beginning of August right before the Sturgis rally. We came to the area for a last minute family vacation before school. This was the worst portion of our trip. When calling ahead my wife was told the rate was $198/night with no word of the surprise ahead of us. Upon checking in we were told it was $198 for the night then the rate would rise to $314 the second night. I told the clerk we were not informed of that and she said we could talk to the manager, Dawn, the next morning. The following morning I spoke with her about the issue. She said she would be fired if she changed the rate and invited us the explore other hotels in the city. She said she would waive any 24 hr notice of room cancellation, implying to me that we could check out anytime. We finally found lodging elsewhere then checked out at 4pm. That night we were called by the clerk saying our CC would have to be charged for the room. I informed her that the manager said we could check out at anytime. Again she told us to discuss with the manager. A day and a half later we talked by phone and again, the manager would not budge refusing to acknowledge the 24 hr cancellation notice. I had to ask for her boss' contact info a couple of times and finally she provided it. I called him, left a message and have never received a call back. Our story doesn't end here. That day we checked our CC account and found that the hotel had charged us twice for the room. I called the manager back and she said it would be reconciled - no apology given. A few days later and still not credit on our card. Another call to the manager with assurances it would be reconciled. I just checked today and it has been corrected. What a pain! This has been the worst experience I've ever had with a hotel and I will be lodging a serious complaint regarding this experience with Hilton. I see below that another customer had a similar experience with his rate being raised. Seems there is a consistent problem with management. Otherwise, the pool was nice, the room was average and the breakfast was below average. Overall I'm shocked that this hotel bears the HIlton name.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFranklinFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding your room rate . Your satisfaction is very important to us . Thank you for your feedback and please call me directly so we can sort this out. I look forward to speaking with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, Sc, Usa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is the second of three Hamptons that we stayed in on this trip. It was the most expensive and least appealing of the 3 but the stay was great. Parking lot is apparently shared with 1-2 other hotels, reducing drive up appeal. Our room view was barren vacant lot and interstate. I guess the price ($145 approx) was due to tourist demand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21degree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
The Hampton Inn Rapid City would like to thank you for your review of our property. We pride ourselves on clean, spacious, and updated accomodations as well as great customer service. Our staff is dedicated in making your stay enjoyable and memorable. We would love having you stay with us in the future when traveling in the Black Hills. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent three nights here with my family while visiting the attractions in the Black Hills. Nothing in particular stands out about this hotel, which is a good thing. I've stayed in many Hamptions over the years and have come to expect a quality room and friendly service at a reasonable price, and this property definitely delivers all of that.

Our room with two queen beds was good sized and included a mini-fridge, which was nice. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well during our 3-day stay. The complimentary breakfast was quite good - in fact one of the better Hampton breakfasts I've had. I have found that although the Hampton breakfast fare is pretty much standard at all of the properties, some do it a little better than others, and this was one of the better ones.

There was an indoor pool with a water slide, which our 6-year old daughter had a great time playing in. The only thing is that in the 90+ degree heat it was a little steamy in there for anybody who wasn't actually in the pool.

As for the Black Hills attractions, this Hampton was about an hour driving time from Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Not too bad, but the only way you get closer is to stay in a smaller, independent motel in towns like Keystone or Custer. Downtown Rapid City, where most of the good dining options are, is only a 5-minute drive.

I have only two minor criticisms of this hotel. First of all, it has only one elevator, which can be a little irritating in the mornings when everyone is up and about and housekeeping is trying to do their thing. Second, the breakfast area is a little too small for the size of hotel it is, sometimes making it hard to find a table. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandrfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
The staff at the Hampton Inn Rapid City would like to thank you for your review. We are committed to offering our guests the best stay possible. Your opinions and suggestions are taken very seriously in our goal of providing top-notch service and accomodations. I assure you that both of your suggestions will be considered in our daily routines. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to help us improve.

Dawn Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Terrace, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was alright for a king size bed, the fridge was broken and the water pressure was not good. Not worth the 199.00 a night. After traveling 10+ hours, I initialed the paperwork for the room. My wife and I do not remember the clerk stating about a room price change on Saturday. When we received our bill, the room almost doubled in price. I talked to the manager and she stated all employees are supposed to tell about rate changes. I told her we were not informed and If I would have known that, there would be no way we would have stayed there 2 night. I asked about the 100% Hampton Inn guarantee, and she said that was not covered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
On behalf of the Hampton Inn Rapid City, SD we first want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We pride ourselves on top-notch service and accomodations. Our front desk staff is highly trained in rate change procedures and notification. This particular guest stayed on the transition of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. In our pre-rally meeting, this policy was of top priority as it is in all Black Hills hotels and motels. In reviewing the registration card for this guest, the rate change was both highlighted and signed according to procedure. This guest both initialed all areas regarding rate change. There was no notification of the protest until after the guest stayed at the higher rate. Hampton Inn Rapid City is happy to offer the 100% Guarantee when service issues arise. This issue involves procedures and policies. Any service issues would have been handled accordingly. Thank you kindly. Please feel free to call me at 605-348-1911 with any additional questions.

Dawn Kelly, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing