We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in a king study suite which was very roomy. It had a wet bar, microwave and refrid, along with a large flat screen TV. Very expensive though probably because we are not too far from Mount Rushmore and we stayed the weekend.
We ran into a problem with the sheets on our the bed...There was a big stain and we didn't have a top sheet. The hotel staff responded very quickly and changed the entire bed very quickly....We were very impressed.
The location is great and there are several restaurants and fast food places nearby, including a large mall (Rushmore Mall). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    159
    70
    41
    23
See reviews for
287
158
34
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Hampton Inn in Rapid City is another great example of hotels done right. Clean rooms, helpful, friendly staff and very accessible to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Hourse Monuments. If you are considering a trip to the black hills,Sturgis, Rushmore and Crazy Horse,you can't go wrong with this hotel,

Room Tip: Ask for king and use AAA if you have it. have your current hotel call the next one and check on avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Is this even a Hilton????

One of the worst Hilton hotels I have ever stayed at! They should be ashamed. Rooms are dirty... full of dust, toe nails and old food. This could be all yours for only $224.00. Make sure you you book your room early because this awesomeness is going quick! Diamond Members hurry you can get in line to get ignored and disregarded at check in... Because there is no other Hilton around in miles!!!!!!! and they know it.

I was shocked that the front desk manager was offended upon mention how dirty the place and old the place looks. and... 2 hours in and I am still waiting on maintence to fix the AC.

Only good thing Hilton has going in this town is a brand new HGI opening soon. Bring on the HGI and tear down this Hampton.

Room Tip: Don't get room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRapid, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
I apologize you had such a bad experience at the property and have such a strong opinion. We have taken care of the issues that you are referring to with your stay. I can assure you there is an Executive Housekeeper on property that checks every room before a guest checks in. We value our Hilton Honors Guests very much and do take excellent care of them. In speaking with you last night, I am glad we had a chance to discuss the problems that you encountered. We are looking forward to HGI being our partner in the Hotel business in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

4 nights in this Hampton and my room key failed and had to be replaced every day. Huge flat screen that rattles with any base at all. The hall carpet is trashed. There is only one elevator for three floors. The room was over $200.00 per night which is much more than the ramada and Comfort inn which are half the price. Do not pay more than $109.00 for a room at this Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScreenName55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoebe1969, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
I apologize you had an unpleasant experience at the Hampton Inn and that you had such a strong opinion about the rate, carpet and elevator. Having one elevator for a property this size is more then adequate and our carpet was replaced in 2009. Rapid City is in their peak season for Summer so our rates are fair and reflect what the market is doing. We value peoples feedback and react immediately for our guests to make sure they have the best experience and the most enjoyable and pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Pros - great front desk staff. Helpful. Friendly. Nice lobby.

Cons - poor housekeeping. Our room had a microwave that had popcorn remains from the previous occupant. The ice bucket still had water in it. There were bits of paper trash note floor. The pool looked dirty, the water cloudy. The rooms were expensive.

Conclusion - this is not a representative Hampton Inn in my opinion. It is the worst HI we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot of them across North America.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoebe1969, Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
I am happy to see that you had such excellent and friendly service from the Front Desk Agents, and you are correct, the lobby is beautiful. We are ambassadors for Customer Service and Guest Satisfaction at the Hampton Inn and we strive for excellence every day in every department. I apologize the housekeeping standards were not to your liking. I assure you the comments have been passed on to ensure this does not happen to our next guest. Thank you for your comments and opinion. Make it a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here for one night in June 2011 using Hilton points. Of all the many Hampton Inns I have stayed in, I found this one to be a little disappointing compared to others, although not enough to complain to the management. The hotel was full the night we stayed.

Our room had a slightly unpleasant odor, the white bed coverlet was washed one too many times and the fill inside was really lumpy, and the counter console in the bathroom was cracked in one place and chipped in another. There is only one elevator off the main lobby, and it can be slow.

On the plus side, the shower and toilet were clean and the front desk staff was pleasant.

The breakfast was standard fare. The dining area, however, was not large enough to accommodate all the guests, so some ate standing up and a few took food into the lobby to eat or back to their rooms.

We had severe showers the night we stayed, and the power flickered on and off very briefly a few times. We had a third floor room and could hear the rain pounding on the roof.

This Hampton is in with a cluster of many different hotels, right off the highway. There are numerous places to eat nearby.

On the front end of our trip, we stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Express - this Hampton required more than the usual Hilton points for the value, in my opinion - we liked the Holiday Inn Express better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoebe1969, Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our beautiful property. I am pleased to hear our rooms were very clean and the staff was pleasant. We strive for exellence every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
363 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

As some other posters have stated, I'm also a Hiltons Honors Diamond member so almost always pick a Hilton branded property. Yes there aren't other Hilton choices in this area but we found our stay to be quite nice. Location within a 'courtyard' of adjoining other lodging properties is a little odd but not necessarily bothersome.

As with most Hamptons, we found the room to be clean, spacious and quiet enough for us to get a good night's sleep after a long day's drive. Used the fitness center - very nice - and thought the indoor waterslide would be a hit with the kids.

No complaints here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing