We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Nearby Hotels
$128
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$169
GrandStay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$176
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$196
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$170
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$116
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveler rating
957
453
152
33
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
957
453
152
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree beerwaffleshigh schoolclose to downtowncivic centerbeer and winepresidential suiteroom was cleanfree breakfastfront desk staffnice hotelwould stay here againgreat roomblack hillsstaff was friendlybiscuits and gravyup to date
Filter
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MICHELLE A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Probably the friendliest staff of any hotel I have stayed at. Every time I walked in the door I was greeted with genuine smiles. Every staff person I encountered was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHELLE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank You. We do have a truly wonderful staff and I am blessed to have every one of them on our team. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here on a family trip to the Rapid City area, and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are HUGE! We had a room with 2 double beds, and there was a half-wall between the two beds, which helps limit any noise (got any snorers in your family?). Beds were comfortable, good shower, and we had a mini-fridge/microwave. Breakfast downstairs was petty good, included make-your-own waffles, and your basic continental breakfast standards. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the main street (maybe actually called Main St, but I can't remember), which has lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLM_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHELLE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank You for your review. We do offer spacious rooms with new mattresses, updated shower heads and our newest addition of flat panel TV's. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Hotel was a great place to stay while in Rapid City! Great breakfast in the morning. We were not there for the evening receptions. Quiet location across from a High School. Can walk to the convention center and parks. Our room was on the back side of the hotel. We would stay here again. Family of four plus our dog. The hotel was kind enough to let us bring our dog when were evacuated from the fires in Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjs125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHELLE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Offering a review at a time when life must be truly hectic for you means the world to us. We greatly appreciate your time. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time here and we would welcome the opportunity to have you with us again. I pray all was safe and sound when you were able to return home. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MICHELLE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews