We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the cleanest hotels i've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the cleanest hotels i've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I generally stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and was leary about staying here - however i booked it based upon the reviews on this site. The two adjoining rooms were spotless! Beds were very comfy and I was surprised to see that there was a microwave and fridge in each room. The complimentary breakfast was really nice - my son loved the waffles. The staff were great and very accommodating. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was the first Howard Johnson's I've ever stayed in and I was really taken aback over the cleanliness. The housekeeping staff at this hotel deserve much praise for a job very well done. This hotel should be a role model for others. The value was fantastic. This hotel certainly deserves the numerous awards it has already received.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank terriCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    402
    130
    30
    14
See reviews for
679
319
70
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We stayed here on a Saturday night, and I was truly impressed. The hotel is nicely decorated, very clean and provided all the standard amenities. A light breakfast is included, though the waffle maker was hoarded by a family of five so we didn't bother making any. The in-room coffee tastes like dirty bath water, but that seems to be the norm in hotels anymore. Great value, great location - book your room here!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebyrdsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Had a great stay. Hotel was nice and clean and nicely furnished. Lovely pool and whirlpool. Nice breakfast too. Not far from the main streets of Rapid City where restaurants and shops are located (10 min walk). It has a large parking. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

I never would've booked the Howard Johnson Express without reading the reviews here. It truly is a nice place to stay! We had spent the day at Badlands Nat'l Park and got in around 9pm, and to our pleasant surprise, found we'd been upgraded to the Presidential Suite! They didn't even charge us more than the $85 rate we booked thru the hotel's website!

The suite is very nice, as described in a previous review. Two large rooms, dining table, kitchenette. Decorated in an animal print theme. The bathroom was a very large room, but could've used more surfaces to put things on. We enjoyed the jacuzzi both nights after hiking all day around Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. We never made it to the cocktail hour and wondered who had time what with all the amazing sights to see in the area!
The location is just off the highway, but not walking distance to anything of interest. We shopped at a nearby Albertson's.

The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast had the usual selections, plus hard boiled eggs and a waffle machine.

We didn't see what the regular rooms looked like, but would say this hotel is a terrific value in Rapid City!

  • Liked — Free upgrade!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We came with a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 kids, age 12, 7 &6. We booked a king bed/suite. The suite was one of their presidential suites. It was a very large room. Essentially the sweet is two larger rooms connected by a doorway. One room had a love seat and a king sleeper sofa. There was a small table with 5 chairs, refrigerator, microwave, a desk and a large TV. The other room was a comfortable king bed, jacuzzi tube and then a bathroom with another shower/bath. The room was great for our family, with plenty of room for the kids to play.

While staying there, there was a tornado warning and the staff was very professional about getting the guest into a secure area in the breakfast room. They provided drinks and popcorn for all of the guest and kept us informed with regular updates. I give them high marks for their professionalism.

The pool is small, but clean and good for our age kids. There is a large indoor pool patio and two hot tubs.

The beds were quite comfortable, but the breakfast was rather plan. The location is good, with closeby freeway access to highway 90. Downtown is a few blocks away, as is a larger supermarket and a good local coffee hous, Dunn Bros.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

HoJo Express was a true pleasure to find. We booked the hotel thru Hotwire, so we didn't know exactly what we'd get. The rooms are generously sized, clean, comfortable, and look like they were recently remodeled. The first night we were upgraded to a "Presidential Suite" that included two large rooms, a king sized bed, a jacuzzi, fridge, and hideaway. A week later we stayed in a regular room with two Queen or King beds (not sure which!). A complementary HOT breakfast buffet is not to be missed - there were two waffle makers and staff on hand constantly to make sure everything was running smoothly. Our daughter liked the indoor swimming pool, too. On our nine day roadtrip, this was by far the best property we stayed at.

  • Liked — free hot breakfast, clean, modern amenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiliboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in July, 2007. The only thing that keeps this from being a 5 in my book for the Rapid City area, is the lack of wireless internet in the upper floors. I hope they are working on that. Wireless is available to rooms on the main floor and in the lobby but high speed is only available in the upper floors and if you're like me, you don't bring those cables with anymore. They did have a guest services computer available as well. New property, very clean and kept up. Has an elevator. Free continental breakfast. Fridges and microwaves in rooms. Lots of cable channels. Located just off interstate. Triple AAA rate was under $100 which is pretty good for summer months in this heavy tourist area. Would definitely stay at again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank capsfan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
968 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 51 in Rapid City
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing