We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't go there again!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The window did not shut all the way, letting the noise outside in. The room was either to chilly or a bit to warm. We decided to go to the pool, but it was to disgusting to get in. The water was yellow and there was a clump of hair in it YUCK!!! We are leaving in the morning, so well see if they adjust our bill.
On the other hand, the room was cleaned in a timely fashion.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvsthesun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I'm sorry to hear your stay was anything less than satisfying. You shared your concerns with me upon departure, and steps were imediately taken to rectify those issues. I ttruely appreciate you sharing your concerns with me, so that I am able to address issues right away and get them taken care of. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    416
    137
    32
    15
See reviews for
705
331
72
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a delayed rating, as I recently joined tripadvisor but stayed at this hotel in May of 2011 (it may show September 2011 because that was the earliest choice given). I was very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Not luxurious but nice and comfortable. Comfortable beds, nothing "scary" in the bathroom (I judge a lot of my stays on the bathroom...I don't like anything old looking or old feeling). I do remember that the hot tub was too hot for me to get into (but I never stay in one for very long anyway). Enjoyed the manager's social each evening, having popcorn and soft drinks and meeting other travelers. Just an overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granny_Annie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I apreciate you taking the time to send us a response espicially since your stay was some time before you had the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a great night sleep at this Howard Johnson. The room was clean and up to date and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good selection at breakfast. I did use the hot tub and pool. They have 2 hot tubs and one of them was lukewarm and the jets were not strong, however, the other one worked great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I'm pleased to hear you slept well, we have just put all new mattresses in the hotel. I do apologize that one of the hot tubs was not up to speed. We are in process of having that taken care of. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razorbackland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

You will not be sorry for staying here! Very helpful staff at the HJ in RC! Huge continental breakfast area, and kept well maintained! Very small fitness center although, all equipment worked. The room was very clean!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayettenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were excited to stay here again from our last trip out west. But unfortunately we were not impressed. Hotel was clean and the room was still very spacious. But there were things that have gone downhill. The pool area was a bit of a mess with missing ceiling tiles and a cold pool. One hot tub didn't work either. Breakfast was ok. They are supposed to have a hot breakfast but all that was hot was waffles (which every hotel has now) and a breakfast burrito you can microwave. Not impressed at all.

There wasn't enough good here to make us want to stay again. We will look at different hotel next time. But if the price was right we will stay again. Won't pay more for this hotel again though.

Room Tip: They do have 2 king rooms but they aren't advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I'd like to Thank You for your review. Feedback from our guest helps us to pinpoint areas we can improve upon, and your thoughts will definitely be put to good use. We were experienceing some issues with our pool area, but everything is back on track now. I do apologize this occured during your stay. We are also looking at updating our breakfast selections, and guest imput is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel!! Front desk staff is great they make you feel like family. My room was spotless and very well appointed the free happy hour was also greatly appreciated then in morning a great breakfast tops off the stay Try the burritos. Mmmm. Room was ve ry quiet For sure will stay here next time I am in Rapid City

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich-Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make all of our guest feel as if they are part of our HoJo family. Thank You for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel was in a great location! It was not far from anything we wanted to do.Great restaurants were close by, and were not hard to find at all!
Our room was very nice, clean, lots of room for all our gear. The jacuzzi tub was nice after biking through the hills all day.
They offer a breakfast bar with: raisin bran flakes, fruit loops, juice, waffles, toast, hard boiled eggs, coffee, cream, jams, juice.
They offered a glass wine or a beer at 6:30pm for travelers to relax and unwind.This hotel was a great spot and added to our enjoyment of sight seeing

Room Tip: We both ride, and enjoyed the upgrade to the jacuzzi and king bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSands2envy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank You for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to offer amenities that enhanced your trip.We are happy to not only meeti but exceed our guest expectations. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing