We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay here again in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We would stay here again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Outstanding first HoJo stay in over twenty years! When we first checked in, there was a glitch with the wrong type of room, but they worked and worked until they were able to fix it. More than one waffle, toaster, and microwave station in the breakfast room made it so hardly anyone ever had to wait in line. Laundry room was hot, hot, hot and without a chair, bt hardly anyone uses those anyway, right?

Best road trip feature: It's right off of the main freeway but with little noise from it, and the road to take to get to Mount Rushmore is the very next turn. We were on the road in a flash!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We would love to have you stay with us again! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I Thank You for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    392
    125
    29
    14
See reviews for
662
309
67
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I went here with my wife on our trip to the Black Hills. We were a little wary based on the area around the hotel, but it's clean, the rooms are modern enough, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We drove from Chicago with two bikes on the back of our car, so we asked if there was a bike rack where we could lock them up. No bike rack, but the front desk offered to store them in one of their back rooms as an alternative for the duration of the stay. This really helped with our piece of mind, and for the days we weren't using our bikes, it just made travel easier. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvingardens22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank You. We are always glad to assist our guest. We happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The room was a nice size. The beds were very comfy.The only problem that I had was that the A/C unit in our room was broken.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtpeaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I'm pleased to hear your room was spacious and comfortable. I am, however, sorry to learn your AC unit was not working properly. We are in the process of updating our units with wall thermostats to allow guest more accurate control of their room temp. I apologize you didn't get to experience this. We hope to see you again in the future and provide an opportunity for you to enjoy our refreshed AC units. Thank You for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay at with great amenities. The nightly reception was a great surprise when we arrived. Loved having some popcorn and beverage just after coming in. The front desk staff was friendly and alwsys greeted us with a pleasant attitude. Our room was spacious and always like having a fridge to keep things in when traveling. The cleanliness was ok. Nothing too bad, just a couple minor issues. We had a stained pillowcase that was taken care of promptly and then noticed later the throw on the bed was stained. A little quick on vacuuming found some peanuts etc when moving the chair to sit and watch tv. Overall this is a very nice hotel and has been nicely maintained. Would stay here again even with the houskeeping issue.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaacsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank You for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The reception is nice after a long day of traveling and/or sightseeing. Our goal is to exceed every guest's expectations and I am glad our ftont desk staff did so for you, and I apologize our housekkeping fell a little short. I have addressed the issue with our executive housekeeper to prevent that from happening again in the future. We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed 4 nights first week of June. Comfortable hotel with spacious clean rooms. Not walking distance to downtown but convenient and close to highways and downtown area. Front desk staff efficient. Across from highschool and convention building. A lot of street noise on the weekend from teenagers meeting up in the school parking lot with loud cars - maybe room in back of hotel would be better. Overall nice place with comfortable bed and liked having fridge and microwaye in unit. As a budget hotel...the HoJo works just fine!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to review our property. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family of four recently spent five nights at the Rapid City HoJo, and were really happy with it. I often have trouble sleeping in hotel beds, which are usually hard, but the beds in this hotel were really comfortable. Also, I never heard noise from the surrounding rooms or hallway--not sure if that was because there wasn't any, or because of soundproofing. The free breakfast offered a large selection, including boiled eggs, fresh waffles, yogurt, toast, pastries, cereal, juice, and more. My family was able to fill up, which saved us a ton of money. One thing to be aware of: this hotel is away from the main business section, so there aren't restaurants within short walking distance. However, it was close to the convention center, which offered a beautiful rose garden and walking/biking paths along a creek. Very pretty. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahmiapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank You. I'm pleased to hear you slept well and enjoyed our breakfast. You are correct, the park by the Civic Center is absolutely beautiful. There are several good restaurants in the downtown area which is only about 3 - 4 block from the hotel and just south of the park. Once again, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

By far the best hotel I've stayed at in Rapid City. Laundry facilities, pool, sauna, & a great spread for breakfast! The staff was friendly & professional. Clean rooms with microwave & refrigerator. The freezer worked great by the way unlike many hotel refrigerators. Great location close to downtown Rapid City & interstate 90. In the lobby a computer with a printer, which was helpful doing mapquest directions to attractions. You get what you pay for and yes it is a little higher than most hotels but you get great amenities. This will be my first choice my next trip to Rapid City!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank You for the wonderful review. I am glad that we not only met, but exceeded your expectations! I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.6 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing