We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night whilst visiting Mt Rushmore and booked with the hotel direct. The hotel was in an excellent location, just off the freeway into Rapid City and was a 30 minute drive away from Mt Rushmore.
Our room was on the 4th floor and was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The room was a fair size and was clean. Our room had two queen beds. The room also had a fridge with a small freezer compartment and a microwave and a safe. The bathroom had a toilet,bath with shower. The sink was seperate in the main room. Free wifi was also included.
The managers reception was excellent with complimentary wine/beer, soft drinks and popcorn from 6pm until 7.30 pm. Breakfast was also included in the room rate. There was a good selection available including waffles, cereals, pastries etc. The staff at the hotel were very helpful.
We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere reasonable to stay near Mt Rushmore. The hotel far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Book Direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    385
    123
    28
    14
See reviews for
641
298
64
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were treated very well. Had we brought our bathing suits, we would have used the pool which looked clean and well-maintained. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and had many items.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWarrior84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Overall, we received an excellent value; it felt like a 3 star hotel for a 1 star price. The rooms were clean and quiet and very well appointed. The staff (front desk, hospitality, and breakfast) were all very friendly and helpful. Many small details were attended to. We'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMadtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed here based on other TripAdvisor reviews. I never thought that a HoJo could be this nice. Highly recommended if you're passing through on vacation or in the area to see Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Upon arrival we were told we could not cancel our room because we did not book directly through the hotel and that it was past their cancellation period which was supposed to be 6 p.m. the night of the stay. After dropping off our luggage and going Christmas shopping all day, we came back to our room to get into our jacuzzi tub. While in the tub there was blue scum around the edges. We decided to shower and in there was used soap and shampoo from that last person. And lastly when we got into bed and flipped our pillows there was blood on the pillows and sheets. The hotel never offered to switch us to a different room or give us new sheets and would not let us check out because we didn't book through them, nor would they refund our money. After discussion with their general manager and priceline we had to go to their corporate office. They weren't any more help, they decided to only refund half of our money. So not only did we have to pay for a room we didn't stay in but we had to find and pay for another hotel that night, so what should have only been $150 ended up costing us $300. This customer service was the worst I have ever come across. I will never stay at another Howard Johnson, nor will I ever use priceline or trip advisor to book anything. It is nothing but a hassle and every plays the blame game and tells you to contact the other when it comes to wanting and deserving a refund.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bravo343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyJSmith, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
We appreciate your feedback and apologize if this stay did not meet your expectations. Normally, as many websites will attest, we have very high customer satisfaction ratings and we take our customer feedback very seriously. We have discussed your situation with our staff to ensure a positive experience for all of our guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Nancy J Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel is located roughly mid-way between downtown Rapid City and the I-90 interstate. Close to most things you need such as shopping and restaurants providing you have a car. Good value for the price we paid via Hotwire for 3 nights in the last week of July.

It's a very clean property. Great staff and they provide a decent breakfast in a cheerful environment. It also has a nice indoor pool area complete with two hot tubs. If you are there on one of the right nights, you get free snacks and drinks.

Now, some minor criticism. Even though in good condition, the TV and some of the furniture needs upgrading. Our second floor room was located at the back at car park walkway level. This meant we had to keep our curtains closed all the time we were there because of the pedestrian traffic looking in. If it wasn’t for those negatives, we would have given the hotel a higher rating.

It still hasn’t stopped us from recommending the hotel to others as it was a great base to visit Sturgis, the Black Hills, Mt Rushmore, SD Air Space Museum at Ellsworth AFB and Deadwood.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

HOJO is really working to upgrade their image, and they have with this hotel. I asked our travel agent about an Embassy Suites (there aren't any in Rapid City), and she recommended this Howard Johnson as the best alternative. We paid a little more for one of the Presidential Suites (with a Jacuzzi in the bedroom--see pictures), so we'd have plenty of room for our 4-night stay. It was great having a dining table (we ordered pizza one night), sink, refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the living area, and TV sets in both the living room and bedroom. I could get up and make coffee, and let hubby sleep in!

Service was great throughout the hotel, especially at the expanded continental breakfast every morning, and the manager's reception (beer, wine and popcorn) on weekday evenings. I was impressed that the staff was so helpful, and didn't start shutting down the breakfast/reception area on the dot of closing time. Breakfast buffet had either microwaveable breakfast burritos (with Pace picante sauce) or a ham/egg/cheese hot pocket, along with the waffles, pastries, bagels, cereals, yogurt, toast, juice and coffee--more than enough selection to satisfy most people. And it was certainly nice to be able to go in and get a glass of (very inexpensive) wine in the evening, take it down to a table beside the pool, or stay and chat with other visitors.

I was a little surprised that there wasn't a separate desk area, but I guess the suites aren't primarily designed for business travelers, and my netbook worked just fine on the dining room table, with good, free high-speed wi-fi internet connection.

Only minor drawback to this hotel might be the location--no restaurants or bars within walking distance. Having said that, it's location off of the main streets makes it very quiet, and it's extremely easy to get to both I-90 and to the Mt. Rushmore Road.

We were primarily sightseeing in the Black Hills, Spearfish Canyon and Mt. Rushmore, and would definitely stay here again if/when we come back to Rapid City.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.6 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing