We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$152
$127
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
159
127
58
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
127
58
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza huthot tubeggs and sausageindoor pooldoughnutsgas stationblack hillsspent nightsplace to stayenglish muffinthe breakfast areahot breakfasta great staymount rushmoresturgisattractionsfrig
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 395 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this motel for four nights in June 2011 with one daughter, son-in-law and their three children. We liked this motel (and the Rapid City area) so much we returned in July 2012 with a different daughter and her four children. So that's eight nights. This is a pleasant motel, somewhat out in the hills away from the Rapid City metro area but across the street from a gas station & grocery store. Every night we'd swim in the good-sized heated pool & hot tub. Breakfasts were solid and rotate biscuits & gravy, then sausage & eggs. The staff was always pleasant & helpful. We considered this good value for the money and would not consider any other motel should we return to Rapid City.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjzusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks for taking time out of your day to let everyone know why you have chosen to return to our Ramada for the past two years! We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel with a fun pool to enjoy and a nice hot tub to relax in after being on the road for hours. As you know we offer a location with easy on and off access to Interstate 90, without all of the noise and traffic that accompanies the exits along the interstate in Rapid City. We are located only 7 miles west of the first Rapid City exit and are central to all of the wonderful attractions the Black Hills have to offer. I am proud that you would not consider any other hotel but ours for your lodging needs when visiting our area. Once again thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful to stay at. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and the beds comfortable. The price was much cheaper than the hotels in Rapid City. They offer free wi-fi, which I never had a problem with, and a free breakfast every morning of either eggs and sausage or biscuits and gravy. Every morning they also offered donuts, muffins, juices, waffles and fresh fruit. Only downside is it is a bit further away from the attractions, but with the distance came more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review Elizabeth! As you discovered we are located at a much more peaceful exit then what is offered along the busy Rapid City interstate exits. Across the road from us is a full-service (small town) grocery store, a Pizza Hut and a bank. Within a two mile radius are three restaurants. We offer most of the conveniences of the big town, but without all of the crazy traffic and noise. And as you know, we can offer a better value then many of the hotels in Rapid City all the while maintaining all of the qualities of a respectable hotel. We are located half way between Deadwood, SD and Mount Rushmore which means we are smack dab in the middle of all of the major attractions the Black Hills has to offer. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to let us and everyone else know how well we did during your stay in the beautiful Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here on our way to Wyoming and Yellowstone. Desk clerk was very nice and helpful. Offered eating suggestions a few exits down. Hotel lobby and pool were very clean. Our room was very clean and the bed and pillows were clean and soft.Sturgis crowd were loud for just a short while at night but not really this hotels fault. Will look for this hotel again for future trips to Wyoming and the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laamjeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review and for making us one of your stopping points on your way out west. I'm delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable. Our staff is always eager to help with tips on good restaurants in the area. We have created a "Ramada's Guide to Dining in the Black Hills" paper that is free of charge and includes the best dining options our area has to offer. I encourage everyone who stays with us to take one from our information bureau. I am happy to hear you would stay with us again and I look forward to your return visit to our Ramada and the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We looked online for a hotel near the interstate in this area and made a reservation here. We then cancelled our reservation at another hotel where we stayed on the way west. We had found found that hotel overpriced, breakfast was awful and the staff was uninterested. After a 14 hour drive we just wanted a comfortable bed. Amenities were not important. We were happy to find not only a cheerful staff and clean, quiet room, but a nice breakfast as well. There is also a full service bar and casino if you are so inclined. We were fully satisfied by the attentiveness of the staff, especially during breakfast, the room, and the ease of getting on and off the interstate. We will definitely stay there when we visit "out west" again. Like one of the other reviewers, we prefer that the sink be in the bathroom, but for the price, the value outweighs this one, tiny complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eowyn1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for finding time to write about your enjoyable stay with us. After 14 hours of driving I can imagine your expectations would be to simply have a nice comfortable bed, but as you discovered we offer so much more for our guests. One of our best assets is our easy on and off access from Interstate 90 and I'm glad that made your stay with us more convenient. I feel ultimately it is our staff that makes the difference between a good stay and a great stay and I'm proud that we delivered you a great stay at a reasonable price. We would love to have you back "out west" in the future and once again thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We chose this Ramada after our stay at the Country Inn Suites proved to be a complete disaster. We paid less at this hotel than CIS and were MUCH happier with our stay!
To start off, the front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant.
The room was spacious although neither of really cared for the sink being in the bedroom area rather than the bathroom but that is simply personal preference.
The beds were comfortable and full of pillows - a feature I'm always happy to find!
The bathroom was very clean and stocked with plenty of towels. We thought the room was pretty clean but after spilling a water bottle and soaking it up with a towel, we realized the carpet desperately needed a good cleaning!
Housekeeping did a great job.
The continental breakfast was standard - I couldn't give it a lot of praise but I was able to find something to eat each of the three mornings we were there.
As with most hotels, there was considerable room to room noise.
I liked the small coffee pot over the one-cup fiascoes I find at other hotels. The one thing I really would like to see is a mini-fridge. I understand they have them in the suites but there seemed to be plenty of space to accommodate one in our room.
Lack of outlets is always a problem in all but the newest of the hotels it seems and they were lacking here too. With computers, cell phones, IPads and the like - it's a painful shortcoming.
I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanderingMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planetz7, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on having the best front desk and housekeeping staff in the area. Every inch of our rooms are deep cleaned just before the start of the "busy" season usually in April and from there since we are always busy we normally deep clean each room on a case by case basis until August when we do every room again. I will look up your last name and try to find which room you stayed in and get that carpet shampooed ASAP. Our hot breakfast consists of what anyone would easily consider good old-fashioned "midwest" dining fare. We switch every day between biscuits and gravy and sausage patties and scrambled eggs as the hot dish. We always have donuts, rolls, muffins, waffles, english muffins, hot/cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, and of course toast and fruit. We are considering adding a fridge to every room in the hotel and your imput will definately help make that a reality (as we do report such suggestions to our owner). While we're at it we may add a "hub" in each room for electronic devices as well. Times are always changing and in this "electronic age" that's a great suggestion! Thanks for your review and we would be pleased to have you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews