We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to pass the time”

City of Presidents Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 19 Tours in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
392 reviews
326 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good to pass the time”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

If your in downtown rapid city you'll notice on two of the mail streets for about a six block stretch there are statues of presidents on the corners. Have a quick half hour walk checking them out and learning. I hear there's a scavenger hunt as well but I visited during a snow storm when all the facilities were closed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Impressive tribute to our Presidents”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was worth walking the 12 blocks to see the Bronze President statues. Since the visitors centor did not open till noon we did not have a map. We would try to guess from a distance who it was, and what they had done. The statues are life size and have intricate detail. Was fun to stand next to them to get a prospective on their size.
Each statue had a plaque...was sad that Pres. McKinnley did not have one as no one donated the approx. $880 it cost for one. We felt the town/business in town should have stepped up, or at least put a donation jar at the center to get him one.
We did make it to the visitors center/gift shop. The man was very knowledgeable. Free coffee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“City of Presidents Walking Tour, Rapid City, SD”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

To be honest, we only went into Rapid City to 'kill some time'. We didn't even know what we would find to do there. While at the Chapel in the Hills one of the volunteers mentioned this walking tour and we thought, 'Why not?'

At first all we had was a map of downtown which did tell us where the various presidential statues were located. Midway, we found the information center and received a copy of a booklet that gave us wonderful information about the statues and why the sculptors choose the particular poses that they did.

This is an apolitical walking tour. They have gone to great lengths to not make it a political thing...we enjoyed seeing all the statues...even the ones for presidents that we didn't vote for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLCTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Statues of the Presidents!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My teenage daughter, my elderly mother and I thoroughly enjoyed walking the 12 blocks around Rapid City to look at the statues of all the Presidents. It was fun guessing who they were and trying to remember something associated with each one. The city is rather small but is on it's way to revitalization.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Whole Family Enjoyed- Don't forget the scavenger hunt”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The statues of Presidents are located on the corners of various blocks (each has their own corner). Therefore viewing everyone is time consuming but well worth it. Make sure to stop at the City of Presidents Walking Tour visitor center first- you can pick up a map and scavenger hunt (FREE presidential soda when complete... YUM!) We didn't pick up our scavenger hunt until we accidentally walked past the visitor center (about 20-some Presidents in) so we had to retrace our steps to find some of the answers. The Scavenger Hunt was a lot of fun for the kids, looking for small details on the statues. It was entertaining to pose with the Presidents. The visitor center is open late so this attraction can be viewed in the evening as well as the daytime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of Presidents Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to City of Presidents Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing