We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband & I just returned home from a 4 night , 5 day visit to Rapid City & the surrounding areas. The plan was to visit all the main attractions, and this location was perfect for that. 30 to 40 minutes tops to most everything you might want to visit. Easy -on, Easy-off to all of the main highways.I would consider this area to be a hotel row of sorts.It is near all kinds of shopping Malls, Walmart, and restaurants. There's a neat little 50's style diner right next door called Arnold's which we really enjoyed a couple of times.( They have the actual front end of a 57' Chevy built-in to the front counter ....loved that ! ) A Texas Road House is about a 2 minute drive, which was also very good. The Pirate's Cove mini golf was also within walking distance, and was very well done and enjoyable.
The staff were all very pleasant, ready to offer assistance with directions, maps, etc. The room was more than fine. Very comfortable beds, and pillows. Everything was very clean. We were on the 3rd floor, so I never really heard any noise from any of the adjoining rooms.The room was beautifully serviced every day. There was also a mini fridge, which came in handy, and a microwave if you needed one. We brought a little soft sided cooler to fill up with drinks and ice every day before setting off.
There is an available computer in the lobby where you can check -in to your airline & print your boarding passes, which came in handy.
The breakfast was sufficient, and enough to get you started on your way. Yogurt,fruit, cereal, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, etc.
I was very happy with this choice....clean, comfortable, and priced right.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 750 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel with my fiance. I had never stayed at a Microtel before. The room/bathroom was spacious and comfortable. I loved the mirrored walls. The continential breakfast was delicous. My only complaint is that the Pool/spa area is a little bit small considering the size of the hotel. More than a few people in the pool area at the same time gets a little bit crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameyer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I spent 4 nights at this hotel while visiting the Black Hills. The staff was very friendly and considerate, both at check-in and departure. They also took the time to give us maps and explain how to get to the different attractions in the area. The room and bathroom were both small but very clean. The decor was outdated, but I don't really care about that. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Housekeeping cleaned the room daily and restocked the essentials. Extra blankets were provided upon request. We did not use the pool, so can't comment on that.
The continental breakfast had all the standard fair...waffles, biscuits/gravy, bagels, muffins, hot/cold cereals, yogurt, etc. The room was small so was crowded during peak breakfast hours (7:30-8:30).
The hotel was a great value and was conveniently located just off I-90. All attractions were within 25 miles of the hotel, and many good restaurants were nearby. I would recommend this hotel, and would stay here again if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast before 7:30 if you want a place to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjgibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were in Rapid City with our own family and our friends who had their children too. We picked this hotel because it had a pool, was pet friendly, and seemed reasonably priced. Next time, I think a hotel closer to Keystone or to the main section of Rapid City would be better. The room was painfully small, with little room for more than one kid to be up moving around. The shower redefined low flow! Staff members were great.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jraineygibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a less than stellar experience at the Ramada on Lacrosse St. in Rapid City on the first night of our 3 night stay. We were in Rapid City on Hills Alive Weekend in the middle of peak tourism season, so rooms left for the weekend were scarce! There was a single room left at the Microtel and we booked it and took it as fast as we could. We had a late night check in after spending the day in the heat and the sun at the concerts. The lady at the front desk was upbeat, cheerful, and quick in getting us checked in. Our room was missing sheets and blankets for the couch pullout, but the lady at the front was super quick in getting us what we needed. The room was clean, had a great layout with tables, desk, couch, storage, and a nice decor. The breakfast area was crowded the first morning we tried to eat, so we took food back to the room and ate at the table in our room. The 2nd morning, the breakfast area had open tables so we sat there and enjoyed the nomal hotel breakfast fare. They do have waffle makers, yogurt cups, muffins, bagels, cereal, orange & apple juice and also offer 24 hour coffee. The front desk girl on our checkout was super nice and asked if we needed directions anywhere when she saw me grabbing a map. We absolutely will stay here again when we travel through the area. Clean, friendly, and no issues here folks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liberty112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here August of 2011 for two nights. Had originally booked for four nights however moved to a different hotel. Room was a suite with a parking lot view. Beds were uncomfortable. Hotel was fairly quiet other than the noise of doors slamming in the hall. Complimentary breakfast was pretty sad with few items and really slow waffle makers. Pool area was small and crowded. Might be good as a one nighter while heading towards the Black Hills but wouldn't recommend for a long term stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Easy to get to and nice staff. Lots of parking and a location convenient to restaurants and services. We were on our way to Mt Rushmore and this was a quiet and dog friendly place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#32 of 49 in Rapid City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Address: 1740 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $43 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Rapid City
Microtel Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Microtel Rapid City
Rapid City Microtel
Microtel Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing