We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn Rapid City
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, good room”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights not long ago. The front desk staff was very friendly, the continental breakfast was soo delicious (our compliments to the chefs!), and the location was good. They accommodated us in the king suite we requested a day earlier after a mix-up in booking! Free cookies for the kiddies. Friendliness is always a major win for me!!

My only thing is that the pool area is dated a bit. I did enjoy my swim with my kids but the water slide itself was pretty strong--it's not for weak swimmers. My 6 year old couldn't use it. The hot tubs weren't that great, they were a bit off color and had sand or dirt at the bottom, and emitted some kind of smell--enough so I couldn't stand it & my kids couldn't either. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay here!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Poetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    272
    125
    61
    59
See reviews for
440
270
58
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Country Inn and Suites for a week and could not have been happier with our accommodations. The room was very clean and comfortable for our family of 4. It was also very quiet although I think with it being the off season, the hotel was not really full until the last day of our stay. Regardless, we were on the first floor near the breakfast room and never had any problem with noise. The breakfast had a different variety of items every day including little omelettes, sausage, potatoes, bagels, toast, muffins, french toast, yogurt with granola, fruit, cereal and doughnuts. There were also 4 different kinds of juice. Our favorite part was the coffee cart just outside the breakfast room that had hot coffee, tea, cider and hot chocolate any time of day. The staff were all very friendly and always asking if we needed anything. It was a convenient location just off the freeway and within 20 to 60 minutes of everything you'd want to see in the area. It was the perfect home base for our visit to the black hills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Everyone hear at the Country Inn and Suites is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that if you return to the area we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCook, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This appears to be a fairly new hotel. It was in great shape, the free morning breakfast was good, and my kids enjoyed the pool and pool slide. Everyone was very friendly, especially the housekeeping staff. With all taxes and fees we paid around $60 a night for a group of 4.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylong76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveland colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

For 75 bucks we got a king suite. Room had plenty of space 2 televisions all the basic amenities and then some. Very clean rooms awesome staff nice warm pool and large selection of breakfast choices. We were amazed by what we got for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croc1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had a wonderful time while visiting in Rapid City, S.D. I try to make it a point on letting management know when I've had excellent service. I was greeted very welcomely. Any questions that I had were answered very eagerly. Breakfast was great. Next time My family is in town we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

In the off-season, Rapid City motels are much more fairly-priced than during the summer months, and same with Country Inn. Nothing wrong with the motel itself.

But this Country Inn has a sneaky way of adding what amounts to a resort fee on the bill. The motel automatically adds a coupon package to the bill, and does not include this coupon package in their quoted rates. Rapid City gouges visitors with enough taxes on motel bills as it is, without a sneak extra charge by the motel.

And the coupon "attractions" are owned by the same franchisee.

At checkout, I asked that the phony charge be removed, and the clerk complied. I also registered a complaint with the visitors' bureau in Rapid City. I don't blame the desk clerk.. it's the franchisee fault's.

A motel that is dishonest deserves no more than one star.

As others have noted, this is nothing more than a scam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billywilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our pleasure to provide guests with a great experience while in the Black Hills area. At check-in you should have received a discount card with multiple discounts throughout the local area. With this card you would receive free passes to Watitki Waterpark Passes, 15% off at TGIFidays, $20 in free play at Cadillac Jacks Resort in Deadwood, free access to the Vertex Sky bar and others.

I strive for perfection from my front desk to explain these discounts and what the Resort Fee covers and understand sometime we do fall short. I apologize for any confusion this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. The staff was was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was great. Hot food (eggs, meat, potatoes), hot oatmeal bar, cereal, muffins, fruit. Very complete. The pool was wonderful. Giant slide, warm, 2 jacuzzi's. Complete work out room with top notch equipment. The hotel was very clean. The king bed suite was very nice. We liked having the two rooms. Every convenience was thought of. Several restaurants within walking distance. In the lobby their is a huge cookie jar w fresh made cookies all the time. I can't say enough about the wonderful stay we had. The best part was the staff. Everyone was nice, helpful,and fun. It felt more like a bed & breakfast. To top it off the price was very inexpensive. You won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Rapid City

Property: Country Inn Rapid City
Address: 2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-7810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing