We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay in overall.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay in overall.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was located not far from the interstate in Rapid city and had plenty of restaurants and gas stations nearby. The parking was rather small and had insufficient spaces available. I was very friendly welcomed at the hotel and received an upgraded room with my reservation. The room was great nad I enjoyed a very good night's sleep. The breakfast was okay yet poorly maintained where two present employees where more interested in their coffee and newspaper then in attending and maintaining the breakfast area. The hotel was budgetfriendly,luckely far away from mass tourism and not a bad place to stay in overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VOYVOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review or hotel. We are thrilled to here that your enjoyed your stay at the property. I would like to assure you that I will be discussing the comments you expressed with our kitchen staff. We believe our location is a nice asset to the hotel, being located just off of Interstate 90 it makes for easy access to all of the tourist spots in the area. We hope to see you again if you return to the Black Hills area. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    213
    105
    52
    46
See reviews for
335
209
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room with 1 king bed was quite spacious. Plenty of room for all our luggage and still room to stretch out. The bathroom was also generously sized with good lighting -- and a large vanity area. The room & bath were very clean.

Breakfast had all the usual -- cereal, yogurt, breakfast breads, make-your-own waffles, juices, fruit and then each morning there were either biscuits & gravy, different sausages, herbed red potatoes, or small cheese omelets or scrambled eggs. There was someone there every AM that we were there making sure everything was working and refilling anything that ran out. Breakfast room was big enough to sit at least ten tables.

Enclosed pool area looked inviting and water slide entertaining -- just didn't have enough nerve to try it!

Only drawback was the 2nd AM we left room late. I told the clerk at the front desk to let housekeeping know so they could clean. We came back to an unmade bed - ugh!! Manager was very helpful and made it up to us. Otherwise the entire staff was efficient & friendly. Oh, and they give you a card with various savings for while you are there.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor and never really heard any noise at all and the hotel was packed -- sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellerwynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to here that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize for the late housekeeping you received during one of your days. I understand when you get back from a long day of activities you would like to just settle in for the night. Thank you for making me aware of the situation so we can strive to be better in the future. We hope if you return to the Rapid City area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pros: Good Location, Clean
Cons: “Charged for discount card”; no exhaust fan in bathroom
-The hotel is convenient (right off I90) stayed here for one night.
- Room was clean
- Bathroom- shower, toilet and sink were clean. Shampoo and soaps provided. No exhaust fan in bathroom.
** Discount Card** Similar experience (as other reviewers) with the charge for the discount card on bill. The line on the bill shows “Destination Marketing & Reward”. We probably would not have even noticed this on the bill as it is mixed in with the other “9” line items for ‘taxes’ (i.e. $20+ in taxes).
Discussed the charge for the discount card with the desk clerk who indicated this charge was “…for the discount card we were ‘given’ at check-in...”
Note: During check-in no mention was made to us by the desk clerk of any charge for the ‘complimentary’ discount card (discount card included discounts for area restaurants i.e. TGIF etc..).
Subsequent to bringing this to the attention of the hotel management (and after several discussions with the front desk) - the amount was credited back to our account by the hotel.

Thanks to the other reviewers on alerting us to the charge for the discount card.

Room Tip: Would verify the AC unit (another couple we were with had problems with the AC not working - 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcs02s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay. I am sorry you had issues with the discount card. This should have been explained to you at check in to build the value in the card. It has multiple discounts including 15% off at TGIFridays, 2 free Watiki Indoor Waterpark passes and free access into Vertex Sky bar located at the rough top of the downtown Alex Johnson Hotel overlooking the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friendly service, extremely comfortable beds, modern decor, and excellent breakfast, plus free airport shuttle.
Beware of getting a room next to the elevator; the elevator is extremely noisy and breathes like some wild beast; we had to request a room change, which was cheerfully accommodated. Good maps available in the lobby. The Grayline tour picked us up at the hotel, and the free shuttle took us to a rental car. What could be better? Nice view of parts of Rapid City from the hotel, and a big old harvest moon hanging like a pumpkin in the sky.

Room Tip: Beware the elevator. Like the Ides of March and the frumious bandersnatch, this elevator is a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khiker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We try to stay at Country Inn & Suites when we travel as they are reasonable, clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights because we spent an entire day visiting Mt. Rushmore and other areas in the Black Hills. Used the opportunity to do laundry. Always happy when self serve laundry service is available although the pantry's detergent and fabric softener were overpriced. The hotel was convenient to several shops and restaurants. Probably a South Dakota problem that numerous taxes were added to our bill which was pretty insane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OahuBandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Even though we were there for only six hours, it was a nice stop. We had traveled all day and was needing to travel fast and hard the next day. We checked in at 1:00 am and check out at 8:am the next day. But the bed was so comfortable, I felt as though I had a long nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboycapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My experience was similar to previous reviewers. Upon check out, I realized there was an $8 per day charge for “Rewards”. The front desk told me it was something I signed for upon check-in. They said it was in the fine print. What a joke, no one during check-in mentioned it or even promoted the discount card. While they did remove the charge, it is my opinion they do this just to pad the bill and rip people off. I am sure quite a few people see it buried aside taxes and just pay it without question. Be warned of this!

As to the hotel facilities, they are ok but nothing special. The breakfast buffet is a 6 on a scale of 10. Just good enough to keeping you from wanting to pay for breakfast at Denny’s across the street but not good enough to look forward to every morning. Fee coffee is available all day. We stayed 4 nights and breakfast was slightly different every day which helped. Also, the TGIF adjacent to the property was handy for dinner and drinks at TGIF bar. This is a convenient location to see the Black Hill sights such as: Badland, Custer State Park and Deadwood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savvy-TravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#4 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Address: 2321 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing