We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK Hotel, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our room was in decent condition. We had a couple of maintenance issues with our room, the sink stopper had to physically pulled out to open the drain, we had to request it to be repaired. The refrigerator wasn't cold enough and it took two requests, one directly to the manager. On our second morning there, someone in the kitchen burned something and set off the fire alarm at 7AM or so, a rude awakening when you are on vacation. While the pool area with the water slide (included in the room rate) were nice, the whole hotel could use some "freshening up", it seems a little worn. If you used the back entrance, the electrical room gave off an ozone smell and the elevators smelled faintly of tobacco smoke.

Otherwise it was a good location, with a really nice perk of a discount card to be used in Deadwood and at Ruby Tuesday's next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSOLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    213
    105
    52
    46
See reviews for
335
209
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff -- particularly the manager and front desk staff-- were very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast was great, and the pool and slide were perfect for our kids. It was a very busy weekend in Rapid City towards the end of August, but the staff handled the crowd without getting flustered and we were able to extend our stay without problems or changing rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had the fortune of getting a King Executive, which is one king size bed in a suite. Two rooms, one with the bed the other with a couch, desk, chairs, and another tv, fridge and microwave. For two people, we had enough room and were comfortable when it came to trip-planing (poring through maps and books). expanded continental breakfast was pretty good and had enough variety. Price of the place was surprisingly reasonable... Compared to places further west! Front desk service was fast, responsive and courteous. Another nice feature is that of location. It is just on the north west side of Rapid City and a block from the expressway. A goof Fridays resturant is just next store and offers patrons a discount. Right behind the hotel is a major mall. Fee found plenty of parking available, since it is well separated from the mall. I would highly re moment this place for a good value. It is NOT quite a five star hotel, but it is not bad for families and mid range value seekers.

Room Tip: Two elevators so it doesn't matter where your room is or what you are bringing up. Not a bad wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here end of August/ beginning september for 3 nights. A room on the fourth floor. The hotel is a bit worn down. The maintenance person can do his/ her job lots and lots better. Many loose ends. The beds are good. The elevators are fast. There's a handy laundry. The breakfast buffet a bit simple. The breakfast room, like in many hotels, too small. The staff friendly. The freshly backed cookies very nice. Nicely located to visit Mt.Rushmore and the Badlands Park and on the way to the West. All in all: we have had a good stay there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I wanted to travel out to the black hills to see the local sites like mt Rushmore, crazy horse and the badlands. When we checked in we were greeted with such enthusiasm by beth, which was a welcome change to the past hotels we've stayed at this summer. Not to mention the fresh cookies they baked all day, it made the hotel smell like baked goodness. We got up to our room and it was fantastic. Our room had a huge TV in it as well as a coffee maker and the usual hotel amenities ie shampoo, soap etc. We stayed for a little over a week and I have to say I have honestly never seen such exemplary customer service. Every question we had about the area was answered in great detail by Isaac and patrick, who coincidentally looked like Adam lampert and ron weasly with a fantastic mustache, respectively (sorry guys!). Every morning we ate a fantastic complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was surprisingly busy but it was delicious and the breakfast workers definitely worked their butts off. The management which seemed to be Johnnie during the day and Stephen during the night were downright fantastic. They handled any issue any guest came up with with respect and politeness. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to the Pope himself.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finalfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and every night they had cookies waiting for us after a long day of seeing what the area has to offer, we initially had no idea what we wanted to see (other than the faces). Patrick and Isaac were very polite and EXTREMELY helpful with recommending places to visit (bear country was great) the management always seemed to be present (johnnie and steven) and were great. Over all, the entire staff was wonderful. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Eagle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I chose Carlson for this trip to take advantage of a frequent traveler discount. I had previously stayed at the Grandstay, which I still highly recommend, but I couldn't pass up the money-saving opportunity this trip. The Carlson will now also go on my list of places to stay in Rapid. The room was spacious and extremely quiet, even at full capacity. Housekeeping was very efficient and the staff was friendly and gracious. The pool was adequate - not large and there were quite a few parents who can brush up on their parenting skills, but that's not the fault of the hotel. i did appreciate that the pool opened early. Fitness room was adequate and was never crowded. I appreciated the cheese sticks on the breakfast menu, but would have appreciated some melon or berries instead of bananas or fruit cocktail. That's for my own personal diet though - my husband had absolutely no complaints about the breakfast selections. Steven, the GM, was wonderfully personable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I would like to Thank You for taking the time out of your busy day to write such a great comment about the hotel. We are always glad to hear when the guest have great experiences with us. We hope to see you return the property on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#4 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Address: 2321 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing