We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our usual pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed April 4, 2011

A clean, quite and reasonably priced motel. We always enjoy our breakfast in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4harryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 619 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at this motel mostly because we have always had a good experience with Americinns and because of the waterslide.
We arrived early and were warmly greeted. We were able to check in early. My 10 year old wanted to get to the pool. Within 10 minutes he and another child in the pool began wheezing and gasping for air. I took them into the restroom and closed the door because the restroom had a fan/vent. They were wet and I didn't want them going outside in the cool weather. When their breathing became more normal I opened the restroom door. The wheezing started again. We left the pool area. My son's breathing got better so we went back after about four hours. Immediately he started wheezing again. He landed in the ER, was treated, given a Rx that we had to have filled at a local pharmacy and told to stay out of the pool.
We have a swimming pool at home. This child has been around pool chemicals his whole life and NEVER experienced such a reaction. He has NEVER had any respiratory problems prior to this either. Three weeks after staying at this Americinn he developed pneumonia......the one and only time in his life.
I made repeated attempts through the front desk staff to talk to a manager during our stay. The manager never responded. I made several calls to the Americinn's customer service number. They listened to my concerns and told me someone would call me back. The THIRD time customer service PROMISED a call back. That was in November 2010 and I still have not been contacted by the management of this property.
I will never stay at another Americinn again......anywhere......under any circumstance.
A 10 year old required medical treatment and the management totally and completely ignores repeated attempts to speak with them.
When we go back to Rapid City in October of this year we will be book our room at another chain.
One more thing, we kept getting kicked off the free internet but were able to connect to a motel across the parking lot and use it without interruption.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calamityjanemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Please be advised that our pool chemicals are provided and monitred by ECOLAB, one of the leading institutional suppliers of such chemicals and pool systems. We test and record our pool chemical levels daily and send out pool samples to be independently tested weekly. During your stay, all chemical levels were normal and the test results of the water were within the normal operating ranges.
We have no other reports of guests experiencing any breathing problems associated with the use of our pool at this particular time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Right off the freeway & close to everything we want to do

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I loved the room! Best Coffee and Breakfast in the morning. The bed is perfectly soft yet not hard on your back. Bathrooms are great clean and cozy. I just loved my room. I will always continue to stay with AmericInn. The fitness center was awesome!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We arrived safe and sound on the 4th of January, and everything went super smoothly. The room was fantastic and roomy, and the front desk staff were superb! Beds were super comfortable and very spacious rooms for the price. You can beat it anywhere! Only thing my spouse commented on was that the heater was very noisy and he said it needed to be upgraded. Other than that we will certainly stay here again. Wintertime is a great time to see everything as there aren't the crowds of tourists and prices are super reasonable. Also the people of Rapid City and South Dakota in general are super friendly people who are helpful and kind. Cudos to Betty B of Midas Muffler for being so helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Americinn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, was a pleasant surprise after a long day on the road. Being a photographer, I look for a clean, comfortable room, and mostly, a great bed! This hotel has a great location off I-90, and the check-in was very quick. I would have to say this is the most pleasant AmericInn, I have stayed at. And, they welcomed my two English Springers!!! They enjoyed it too! I highly reccommend this hotel and I will stay here when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradbeav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We could not of been more pleased with our stay here. It was the first time we had stayed at this hotel. The staff was very friendly from the time we stepped up to get our room until we checked out. The room was neat and clean. When we checked out I told my wife that this is where we wold be staying from now on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 49 in Rapid City
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#32 of 49 in Rapid City
615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Address: 1632 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $47 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. While staying at the AmericInn Rapid City hotel, make time to explore the area, including a visit to the incredible Mount Rushmore, the equally inspiring Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State park, South Dakota casinos and the stunning Black Hills National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Lodge And Suites Rapid City
Americinn Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing