We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb fillet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dakotah Steakhouse

Dakotah Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Dakotah Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 264 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-90
Description: We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal. We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive. Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours. From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too. The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
“Superb fillet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I went this restaurant on Wednesday evening about 6.30pm, without having made a reservation. We were shown straight to a table by a charming hostess. The waitress was most obliging and both fillets were presented to us as ordered. We cannot fault the restaurant or the quality of the food. Blythe way, the restaurant was very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    224
    122
    55
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“might be ok if you could make a reservation two days ahead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our experience with this restaurant was very unpleasant. We were there over the last weekend in September and could not even make a reservation two days ahead, twice we were told we could just walk in and MAYBE be seated, very rude unaccommodating people on the telephone. We went to Longhorn instead (without a reservation) and had a fabulous dinner!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyLady532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Booming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We walked in on a Monday night at five, and there was a forty-minute wait. We decided to eat at the bar. The bar stool was padded and very comfortable, an important item for my husband. Drinks were delicious. My husband ordered the prime rib sandwich and fries. It was served au jus and with horseradish sauce. Very tasty. I opted for a liquid dinner. We met some interesting people at the bar. The service was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere was upscale western. A great place to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celtslavozarkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“45 minutes to get a table on a weeknight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is right next to the Comfort Suites which made it convenient. Food was just good - onion rings excellent. Bar staff was overwhelmed. Just all right.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After sending a week on a ranch with some good home cooking. Both my friend & I wanted plain old Steak & chips.

We booked on line which was really easy, we shown to our table and Ana was our waitress. We had Onion and pepper Rings to start, which were enormous. the dip with them was spicy, however complimented them well.

Interestingly Ana came by and advised there was a hold up in the kitchen due to an influx of orders. That was music to our ears as we needed the break between the starter and main course. Unfortunately many of the other customers were not so happy.

We both had a 14oz Rib eye, which cut like butter. Best steak i have had in a long time. The wait was well worth it.

We obviously didn't do take out as we were in a hotel, however for us a smaller steak around a 10oz would have been better.

Great restaurant, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sksieski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakotah Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Dakotah Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing