We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Sisters”
Review of Dakotah Steakhouse

Dakotah Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Dakotah Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 264 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-90
Description: We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal. We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive. Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours. From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too. The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Three Sisters”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Lovely atmosphere within sight of the Black Hills. Favorite part was enjoying the "Three Sisters" soup. Little did I know that the name does not mean Three Females, but something more in tune with Sioux history. Off the record delicious in taste and the hisorical significance only increased the whole experience. Waitress was friendly enough and never rushed. We will visit again if we are ever there. Add more Sioux history in the way of food....It will work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    240
    130
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food - bar service is sketchy.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On the upside - the steak was excellent. Kind of expensive, but at least it was very good. On the downside ... we sat at the bar to avoid the 30+ minute wait to be seated at a table. Everyone else at the bar was also eating - until the 20-something guys came in to make a scene hitting on the 20-somthing bartender gals. Suddenly, the rest of the customers disappeared as the bartenders were focused on the guys, chiming in on the guys' complaints about the lame country music and lack of noise/fun - and the prices the rest of us were paying. Guys + bartender gals did a shot. - When I bartended my way through college in my younger days, drinking behind the bar was not allowed. I think the actions of the bartenders was classless. We were not the only customers turned off by the scene - other customer came us and point-blank told the bartenders he was not happy with the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugs4cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ambiance was great, but.....”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The steaks were pretty good, but waitress made no effort to deliver the right cooked steak to the correct guest. Steaks not as flavorful as expected. Asparagus not properly cooked. Meal was good, but not great. Kuchen desert was excellent. Service was inferior.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“longest wait ever”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I made a reservation for 2 at 4pm on a Sunday which is opening time here, when we got there, there were 2 couples ahead of us once we were seated they told us the soup of the day and said they would be back shortly to take our orders, by the time the waitress came back to take our order (about 10 mins after being seated) another couple who had been seated after us already had their apps, after our orders were taken one for prime rib mid rare the other for filet mid rare we waited. Another table across from us was seated and their orders taken promptly we got our salads (this was 30 mins after we were seated) and as we were eating our salads the table that was across from us got their soup. Then we waited again, the table across from us got their dinner and we were still waiting, our waitress came over once to give us more water but never said anything about our food, I would have been a little less irritated if we were updated on the progress but seeing 2 different tables that were seated after us almost finished with their meals and hearing countless others getting food and their waiter updating them on the progress of their meal before we had even gotten our main course made me so angry, finally after being seated for 63 min's we got our main course, the meat was cooked how we wanted and it tasted fine, it was slightly above average in tasted in texture definitely not worth the bill of $68 which also took forever to get taken care of the waitress dropped if off we put our card in it and waited again it took another 15 mins for her to collect it and give us the copy to sign so we could get out of there . So based on this experience I would not go back and will warn everyone about the overpriced food and bad service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Food was good and fairly priced. Saw lots of locals enjoying their meals. Had 2 steaks come our overcooked but the waitress and manager were very apologetic and immediately had them redone and cooked properly--they were perfect the 2nd time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakotah Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Dakotah Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing