We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been an off night”
Review of Dakotah Steakhouse

Dakotah Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Dakotah Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-90
Description: We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal. We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive. Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours. From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too. The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.
Twin Cities
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the Dakotah on a Friday night. Things started off bad when it took our server 15 minutes to show up to our table.

Prices are higher than Outback, so you expect things to be a notch better. Sadly the service was just the start.

The house salad was good, but the Clam Chowder was watery (and in fairness may be how they prefer to make it).

My ribeye was ordered medium rare and was torched, the baked potato was cold with a weird taste. My wife's salmon dish was just OK and the sides pretty bad.

I did like the interior design. Only thing to watch for is the booths. They have some kind of funky tree branch like pedestals that can get in the way.

For the cost it just wasn't worth it. I'm really surprised by the good reviews this place has received.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    248
    134
    63
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I were traveling between our two homes (Tucson/Longmeadow) when we decided to go see Mt Rushmore, SD. We arrived midday and went directly to see the National Treasure. It was worth the trip. We found that the area was very touristy with that type of restaurants. However, while driving, we noticed a steakhouse restaurtant with a hugh bison metal sculpture.
We were seated by a large fireplace surrounded by western art. We both ordered steak with reservation. To our surprise, this steak was delicious with asparagus wrapped in beacon. Service was topself. We found a treasure in the rough. If you are in the Rapid City area and are looking for a quality restaurtant (not for wild children) we suggest this treasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHILIP D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feed The Babcocks”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived without a booking with a family of 6. The resturant was half full, we were seated in the back which was a bit chilly and quite far from the lovely fireplace we walked past on the way to our table. The 3 sisters soup was delicious, my Buffalo was all grizzle and the prime rib was dry. The wine list was limited, I tried something new but did not finish my glass. Overall, it was a disappointment and not good value. Our server was friendly and helpful with our elderly family members. That was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hit n Miss”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We dined here 2x as it was close to where we were staying. It's a nice place that has a good happy hour. We thought the onion rings were some of the best ever. They had a good selection of local beers and wines. We dined in the bar area both times and had the same waitress. She was friendly and helpful. The steaks were tasty and tender. The buffalo ribs were dry and the orange barbecue sauce was not a good accompaniment. The Walleye was dry and very freezer burned. We told the waitress and she apologized but didn't offer to replace the meal or take it off the bill which was strange as we had ordered it on our second visit. She just wanted to visit....(I hope management reads this.) The accompaniments other than the house salad were bland. The baked potato was steamed or microwaved both times we visited. I wouldn't discourage anyone from dining here, but I would advise that the food is a hit or miss. Too bad as this place has potential.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank imtedious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Food was delicious but service slow. Some of the teens in our group complained that the portions were small....but then they had room for dessert...the desserts were delightful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakotah Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Dakotah Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing