We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kind of place hubby likes.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Dakota Air and Space Museum

South Dakota Air and Space Museum
Ranked #6 of 66 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Aircraft that have been flown throughout the eras are on display at South Dakota's premiere free aviation museum! The museum has two major static display venues: First, a outdoor air park filled with WWII, Korea, Vietnam, Cold War, and present day aircraft lets you get close to & touch history. This includes the currently flown B-1B Lancer. Secondly, four historical hangars showcase military history & technology,space tech & EROS, SD aviation, and EAFB local military history in a fresh and immersive walk-through. Mid-May through Mid-September bus tours of nearby Ellsworth AFB and the Minuteman II missile training silo are offered at a nominal fee. You will be able to go inside the silo and on base for a 50 minute guided tour of the only MMII silo open to the public. Make sure you bring your ID or Passport (Non-US) to enjoy the tour!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The kind of place hubby likes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this site as well as the National park minute men sites and toured the base.
Lots of planes and information on our military history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    209
    38
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If you have time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I thought it was interesting. There are actual aircraft outdoors and they are something to see, however military buffs and kids will probably enjoy it more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was great. A lot of planes and jets to see at your leisure. Very nice and clean the entry free and all they asked for was donations. What a great way to support our military and the wonderful men and women who fight for our freedom.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take the minuteman II and base tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The museum is free and well worth your time on its own. We also took the missile and base tour and loved it. The missile is only underground about 3 staircases that are very wide and have nice railings. You have to go through a security check to get on base. Make sure to bring a drivers license.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent several hours just wandering around the planes that are on display, each one has a write up in front of it describing what year it was built and what it was used for. There is also a museam with many more things to learn about. This is a wonderful learning experience and it is free to the public. We would recommend this to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ndgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Dakota Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to South Dakota Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing