We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family, consisting of my husband, four grandsons, daughter, son-in-law and I, stayed here at the end of a South Dakota/North Dakota trip the night before flying out. It is a really nice hotel and all the hotel personnel were very nice and friendly. I was told the hotel is less than a year old so everything is still nice and new. In fact, it is so new we were unable to find the address on our GPS and had to call the hotel for directions. A breakfast buffet for $9.95 is available in the morning. It is not a gourmet buffet, but more than adequate. The best part was that children 12 and under eat for free. That made it the least expensive breakfast of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debb B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I would like to thank you personaly for the wonderful review. I am glad that we could accommodate all of your needs to include saving you a few dollars with our "Kids under 12 eat Free". I hope that you were able to partake of the "Made to Order Items" as well as the buffet!
Thank you again for your comments and we look foward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    293
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
360
324
54
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The welcoming staff and hotel were really great. This hotel is a big step up from the Hilton Garden Inn in Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debb B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to serving your needs in the future if you find yourself in the Rapid City area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very new and beautiful hotel. Double rooms had two queen beds (not smaller double beds).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogistcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debb B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated and I appreciate the time it took out of your busy schedule to comment. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed her for two days while traveling in the mid west. This hotel is new, clean and relaxing environment. Had a chance to speak with Smitty at the bar. He was terrific. In general the staff was very accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank petenclaire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, Rapid City. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; our staff strives to satisfy every guest that comes through our doors. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Like other Hilton Garden Inn's (I travel 250 days a year and practically live in these properties), this hotel does a great job taking care of its guests. The beds are the SleepNumber beds (you adjust each side to your own comfort level), the furnishings are excellent as are the linens and toiletries. The property is only two and a half years old, and is easily accessible from Interstate 90 and on the way to Mt. Rushmore and a host of other attractions - including an incredible downtown in Rapid City. The hotel fills fast this time of year (it had been 100% full for the 45 days prior to our arrival) so make your reservation early. Parking is free (exterior lot around the hotel), wifi was great (and free), and the meals were good. While the hotel has a limited menu, you can get a full meal virtually any time of day.

Room Tip: Ask for a western facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to we would like to thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and staff. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and if you are ever back in Rapid City we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Newer hotel. Very clean!! Very nice up to date decor. Friendly service. Worth the extra money if you care at all about these qualities in a hotel. Who wants eggs sitting on a buffet line? Yuk! Cook to order breakfast is included in the breakfast bar price of $10 per adult. Thankfully. The room was a nice size with double queen beds. My husband, my 9yo, and I did not feel cramped. We had no problem with the mattresses as we did not try to adjust them. Location was good for us because it is less than 1/2 mile from restaurants/shopping, and we don't care to be smack in the middle of town. Anyhow, consider that you'd have to drive to attractions no matter what hotel you stayed in Rapid City. As we drove around and saw other nearby hotels, and our experience of traveling frequently, we were very grateful to be staying at this Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad that we not only met, but exceeded your expectations! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a nice new hotel (June, 2012) located on the East side of Rapid City. I like Hilton Garden Inns due to their ammenities, etc. I rate this hotel average only for the following two reasons...ok, three reasons.
Price: Even though Garden Inns are somewhat upscale, if the room is small and the beds are large..navigation in the room is less than pleasant. We paid 40% too much for the room.
Space in room: See above...the room was so small that the one bed (there were two) was so close to the wall that you had to scoot to the foot of the bed to get out.
Restaurant: We chose to eat dinner in the restaurant because of the Hilton Honors reward points being offered.....it wasn't worth it. Wait staff is OK, but menu price for taste quality was a mismatch....breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I respect your candor. We strive for personalized experience for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I would also like to apologize for the quality of service you received while in our on-site restaurant. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Hampton Inn Rapid City
#6 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Address: 815 E Mall Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City hotel in South Dakota is conveniently located just off of I-90, at either exit 60 to mall drive and then west .5 miles of exit 59 to mall drive and then east .1 mile. We are centered in the middle of famous shopping, convenient location and within minutes to many Black Hill attractions such as Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing