We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend half a day”

The Journey Museum & Learning Center
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open all year long! Your Black Hills Journey starts here. The Journey Museum & Learning Center brings together four major prehistoric and historic collections to tell the complete story of the Western Great Plains - from the perspective of the Lakota people and the pioneers who shaped its past, to the scientists who now study it. Providing special programs and interactive learning experiences for all ages is our mission. All admissions are good for 2 days.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great place to spend half a day”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great museum close to downtown and the convention center. There are highlights of the settlement of the region. Perhaps the best part of the museum is the collection of Native American artifacts. Great for all ages, and expect to visit for at least three hours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    84
    22
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A Journey Well Worth Taking”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My last stop before leaving South Dakota in September was the Journey Museum. I had four hours to explore the museum before my flight home and wish I had more time. It was a very entertaining and informative experience. A visitor to this museum, literally, goes on a journey that reveals the unique geology and rich native cultures in the Black Hills. I began the journey in a star-studded darkness representing billions of years of unrecorded time, only to emerge at a gigantic cross-section of the Black Hills which explains how they were formed. From there, I continued through the age of dinosaurs with many outstanding fossils to explore and the age of man with exhibits devoted to the native peoples who call the Black Hills their home. I then walked through the mid-19th century when the white man migrated West in search of gold and a better life. The inevitable clash of cultures ensued. I found it a fantastic journey through time and space and wish history had unfolded in a less violent way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lots of info about Rapid City and the surrounding attractions. Even had people singing later that night. Friendly people, easy to fine

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good. Awesome storyteller installation!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The native American artifacts and installations are really worth the cost of admission. The movie you watch upon entering is pretty dumb, though. And they don't have a great gift shop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good history lesson...very interesting!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed all of the history and artifacts from around the area. Like others had suggested, we went at the beginning of our stay in Rapid City and was glad we did. We didn't have children with us, but it had a lot of interaction areas (especially in the dinosaur exhibit area).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank want2travel2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Journey Museum & Learning Center also viewed

 

Been to The Journey Museum & Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing