We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the detour”

Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour
Ranked #7 of 19 Tours in Rapid City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Over a span of 14 years, 360 goldminers-turned-craftsmen carved a rough granite mountain into a polished national treasure, known today as Mount Rushmore. Today, in dozens of intricate steps, our craftspeople carry on this tradition of quality and excellence with every piece of Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold and diamond jewelry. There are many steps involved in the handcrafting of a single delicate design. Each piece is cast, shaped, ground, polished, soldered, cleaned, wriggled and engaved by our skilled artisans. Take a fascinating FREE tour through our jewelry factory to watch up-close and learn the details of how gold jewelry is made. During the tour you'll see the ancient process of lost-wax casting and how diamonds are cast in molten gold! Tours are arranged to fit your schedule and we're conveniently located on your way to Mount Rushmore!
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the detour”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On a cross-country road trip, we stopped to see this famous location for a photo-op. Delighted we stopped in mid-March and not during high season, which must be challenging, considering the buses, SUVs and motor homes that must clog the roads. Lucking out with great weather, our photos will last for generations. With memories in hand, we continued on our long drive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FadedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pine hill, nj
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A cool American sight.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Many people manage to go to DC and take in the history of America. That being said not many get the opportunity to go to Mt. Rushmore. It's an amazing sight and so much more impressive in person then on tv. I loved walking through the museum and learning all about how it was conceived and created. It should definitely niot be missed if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Take the tour”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took the tour mainly to get the discount, but at the end we were both glad we did. It really was interesting. And you get 10% off any purchase it you do. Make sure and check out clearance cabinets on the opposite wall in their display area. My wife found several Christmas presents there. And we ended up replacing our wedding rings with new Black Hills Gold rings!! Nope, we're not gonna talk about how much we spent, but the stuff is quality, and hand made right there, andyou get to watch the process.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJHollandNBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
288 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice factory tour and jewelry selction”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took the factory tour and it was very interesting. My wife had never seen how jewelry is made and the guide did a great job taking us around the shop. we learned many interesting facts, such as how they actually turn in their carpet for the gold dust in it and that actually is worth enough to pay for new carpets throughout the factory. Sales staff knowlegable and helpful and the items are reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yankee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proud to be in America!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

my first roadtrip with my boyfriend and the state of South Dakota was awesome. We even played a scratch off lottery ticket there and won $50. Alittle cash infusion is always nice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing