We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Caverns

Black Hills Caverns
2600 Cavern Rd, Hwy. 44, Rapid City, SD
605-343-0542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 60 things to do in Rapid City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the biggest crystal cave in the Black Hills area and see a variety of rock formations.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you have always wondered about spelunking, this place might be a good first time experience. NO, we did NOT have a personal guide with us. She just showed us the beginning and gave
us the "brochure". However, the brochure proved to be very well written and the cave path well marked. There is the beginners trip (30 min) or the "adventurers" trip (1 hour). At sixty years of age, I needed a bit more time than that, but it didn't matter. We were in the middle of the second level and my wife's arm began to hurt her, so we turned back and went back to the "beginners" path. She had hurt herself in a previous mishap, so this didn't have anything to do with our trip. You can easily turn around if it gets to be too much for you. There is a lot to see. I thought I would be susceptible to claustrophobia, but these caves, although tight in places afford enough room and are very airy and cool (about 50F). In all, we found the place novel and would recommend anyone curious about caves to give it a try. The "adventurers" level does involve a good bit of stair climbing. There are railings, so you can hold on, so if your knees are in good shape, you can easily take this on. The beginners path is much easier.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    13
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went her in July and i have to say it was one of the worst experiences of my life. My tour guide was only like 12 years old, she knew absolutely nothing about the formations in the cave. Every time i asked a question she would stutter and say I don't really know. Not to mention that they didn't have really bathrooms, they were nasty outhouses that obviously hadn't been cleaned in a week and there was no running water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great caves ... but tours are unescorted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been through a number of caves and this was a great cave to explore with the family. The only down side was you are given a booklet which guides you through the caves and you have to read to your group. Would be much better to have a guide to explain things to you and point things out or even an automated headset. Price was fine and it was not a far drive from Rapid City.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TamandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed the tour of the cave. It was very cool in the cave so bring a jacket but guide was informative and knowledgeable. Much better then some of the other caves in the area. It was worth the reasonable entry price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cudagirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
423 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was not as sternuous as we feared, even the 3 year-old kept saying "I'm doing it, I'm doing it." The caverns were not as spectacular as we hoped but the guide had some interesting anecdotes and when he turned out the ights and plunged us into darkness it was scary! W would go back and recommend it as a way to pass teh time. It is not that cold there either.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing