We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Come in the off season

We've been here twice, once during the peak tourist season and once in September. Our July trip... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Laura C
,
Bugtussle, Kentucky, United States
via mobile
Not that many bears

Visited Bear Country USA in early October on a cold, rainy, foggy Sunday afternoon. We had been... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Kathy M
Read all 3,570 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Rapid City
from $200.00
More Info
from $195.00
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
Reviews (3,570)
Filter reviews
3,500 results
Traveler rating
2,186
864
280
89
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,186
864
280
89
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drive thru baby animals wildlife park arctic wolves black beans climbing trees small animals fun to watch mountain goats walked right gift shop big horn sheep bison great pictures little pricey walk around well taken care
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,500 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We've been here twice, once during the peak tourist season and once in September. Our July trip involved sitting in our car for an hour as the line of traffic snaked through the animal areas, occasionally catching a glimpse of an animal. September was a much better experience! There was no line, the animals weren't hiding, and we were able to go through at our own pace. I'd skip this during peak season.

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited Bear Country USA in early October on a cold, rainy, foggy Sunday afternoon. We had been here in the late 90s when our kids were young and there were SO many bears. On this trip--not so many. Are there less bears after the summer tourist season? Were they hiding in the back country? Don't know. The best part was seeing the cubs. There were quite a few in the walk through part of the park, and they were so much fun to watch. Lots of other animals, but we were disappointed with the lack of bears.

Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a zoo/sanctuary. The first section is a drive through with arctic wolves, bears, bison and more...quite a large area. The second is walking around with Otters, porcupines, baby bears, bob cats, badgers, ......

They get fed twice a day and the animals are very active and visible at those times.
There is much space for the animals out the back of the tourist section...so not your normal zoo.

Thank travel_the_world_or_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

7-14-18 Bear Country tickets are $15 per senior
- it was 93degrees and ALL the animals were hiding or lethargic at 2pm
- when the feeding truck came out, that aroused the bears and at least 30-40 of them came out from their naps to eat, moving in and around the cars! Very cool to see them up close and in varying colors.

Thank WildWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a week in the Black Hills and Bear Country was one of our first stops. The cost was a deal for us: $65 max per vehicle, and there were 7 of us in our car (would've been $111 if we paid per person).

Bear Country was our only chance during our week to see elk and bear. We were able on our visits to Custer, Badlands, and other areas of the Black Hills to see lots of other wildlife, but the elk and bear are very elusive. So we were very grateful for the chance to at least see them at Bear Country in as close to a "natural habitat" as you can get.

We visited in mid October on a sunny, mid 50s day and the animals were active. Stopping at the end of the drive to get out and see the baby bears and other animals was definitely worth the time. We brought a picnic lunch and ate at one of the tables near the parking area. There were some visitors but certainly not crowded in the off season. We would highly recommend a visit to Bear Country USA!

1  Thank Teresa199010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is pretty cool, they have done a great job of having plenty of animals to see. I believe the reason why i wasn't super impressed is due to the season and time of day that we went, most of the animals were sleeping and we only saw 3 buffalo. I also feel that it is overpriced, i mean if you charge per car then why charge per person and according to age? Overall it was cool to see the bears roaming, you can't get that in a zoo.

Thank tanyac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a free afternoon during our visit to the area and decided check out Bear Country USA. We weren't disappointed. We took awesome pictures and saw wild animals roaming around as well as a few that were behind wired fences. The weather was perfect. Wish we had the kids with us. They would have enjoyed Bear Country as well.

Thank irisha1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a great place to visit in South Dakota. I think the time of your visit makes a difference. Most of the animals were laying down. The bears are ready to hibernate. We have never been this close to wild animals before. This is a 2 mile drive. Then you park and look at the baby animals. We were almost hypnotized by watching the bear cubs. They were very active and Busy! You should put this on your itinerary!

Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So to be honest, when my friend said we should go here I originally thought he was kidding as we were a group of 4 adults in our 50's. We visited in October,so there were no lines and I have to say it was well worth our visit. We saw lots of animals, but we were completely amazed when we saw all the bears! We thought we might see a few bears, but we saw about 30!They were within one to two feet from our car. We got great pictures1 Anyways, the place exceeded our expectations. We also did the walk around the park after the drive and it was worth the stop.

Thank coloradowahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bear Country USA was originally founded by a local dentist as a place retired circus bears could go and live out their lives and people could see them in a semi-natural condition. Unless you are independently wealthy, an undertaking of this type takes money to build and maintain - thus the entrance fees. This is not supported by tax dollars.

I talked to the people who worked there - and remember it creates a number of local jobs, and they said the animals are allowed to reproduce naturally. The bears are sometimes traded or sold to other zoos to keep the collection of bears they have diverse enough to reproduce in a healthy manner. Some have been sterilized because of age.

If it were not for these zoos, some children and adults would never see animals and learn to appreciate them. They would only know about them as pictures in a book.

We went about mid day on an unusually warm mid Octoday day. Most of the animals were asleep and I don't blame them. It would probably be best to go in the morning when it is cool and they are moving around more.

They had a wonderful gift shop. It is a family owned enterprise.

We did see one huge bear sit up for a couple of huge hunks of meat his meds had been ground into his keeper was throwing at him. That and the 10 month old bear cubs constantly fighting and following the crowds around were a highlight.

Thank angsw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews