We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an experience.”
Review of Bear Country USA

Bear Country USA
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a leisurely 2-mile drive through this unique North American Wildlife park nestled on 250 acres of Black Hills Beauty. From the comfort of your vehicle view black bears, wolves, elk, buffalo and other wildlife! After your drive-through tour, walk around wildlife loop where young and smaller animals frolic in the outdoors. Don't miss the Baby Bears! Dine at the Cub Grub Snack Shack or shop in the Bear's Den Gift Shop. Open May through November, weather permitting. -- Open for 2017 season on April 8th weather permitting, check our website for more complete dates and hours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The whole set up was brilliant. The bears are there by the dozens as are an abundance of other animals. We took our time driving around and taking pictures and stopping where necessary and I'm so happy we did it. The gift shop has a plethora of gifts and so forth to keep the happy tourist satisfied. All round fun was had and the pictures I have are great. DO IT!

Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,153)
There are newer reviews for Bear Country USA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,579 - 2,583 of 3,154 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We LOVED Bear Country! You get charged by the vehicle and it was kind of expensive for how much time we spent ($60 for 2-3 hrs), but we were happy with it. You drive around a paved road and see lots of wildlife. The bears are the big attraction and they did not disappoint. There were at least a hundred bears of different kinds and colors and they would walk right next to the car as we drove by. They kids absolutely loved this part. There are plenty of pull offs to stop and watch or take pictures. There is also a vistors center that has other wildlife displays including the baby bears. This area is huge and there were so many baby bears here. They were so cute and playful to watch! The gift shop is here also and is well stocked with an area to buy food. Definitely recommend this place!

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for you kind review. Kids do really enjoy that bear area and seeing the animals right next to your car.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a neat attraction. We were able to see so many animals as we drove thru the wildlife park and got some great pictures of the bears at the end, crossing the road, taking naps etc. Then we went to the next section/park and saw the baby bears and other animals. Loved the baby bears - they were climbing trees, walking across logs - busy, busy, busy! Cute!

Nice gift shop. Also a counter restaurant, in the shade, to grab a hot dog or natchos and a bevy.

Definitely worth checking out!

1  Thank mommalou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your Review. Those baby Bears are normally a highlight for visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

At first we thought it was expensive, but once we were driving through the park it made it worth the cost! I just wish we were in a bigger vehicle so the kids could have had an even better view of the animals. Best part for me was the baby bears!

1  Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you! Yes, driving something as big as a RV might add to the experience. You saw the baby bears early in the season when they are very cute!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my third time to Bear Country and I love it everytime. The animals are everywhere and when you get there during feeding time it is even better! Highly recommended!

1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you. If you were in the Bear pen when the feed truck comes out, yes that is fun. We don't schedule that truck, but we do feed them many times during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Country USA also viewed

 

Been to Bear Country USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing