We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Retail Museum Like Attraction”

Prairie Edge Trading Co. & Galleries
Ranked #4 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: To some, we are a Native American art gallery; to others, we are a trading post reminiscent of days gone by. On the corner of 6th Street and Main in downtown Rapid City, Prairie Edge stands two stories high and stretches out for half a block as a brick, wood, and glass storefront that has been restored to its original 19th century glory. Inside, the hardwood floors and polished cabinetry bring to mind the spirit of the Old West, while the distinct smell of sweetgrass and soft sound of a Lakota flute evoke the mystique of the Plains Indian culture.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique Retail Museum Like Attraction”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not knowing anything about Rapid City, we arrived at Main Street Square where a friendly retailer answered my question, "what is not to be missed?" Prairie Edge has all that you could imagine for local products for home furnishings, clothing, jewelry, books and most important a diverse, unique selection of art. Don't miss this very extraordinary store where products and friendly Dakotans will sure to delight in downtown Rapid City.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    62
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not just an Art Gallery”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Art Gallery on the third floor has a unique sculpture all in white, and a variety of contemporary and native art which decorate the nicely restored building. The gallery reminded me of a fun art museum. The shop portion has clothes, hides, jewelry, and many souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank plains16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful art and affordable souvenirs”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Prairie Edge occupies three historic buildings in downtown Rapid City. The largest was a furniture store and an undertaker (a common combination back in the early days), a saloon and brothel (complete with burn marks in the floor in the corner where the spittoon was located), and a mercantile. The buildings have been beautifully preserved and restored and are filled with one of the finest collections of Native American artisans I have seen, representing many of the tribes from across America. Bead work, painted buffalo hides, sculptures and paintings are artfully displayed throughout all three floors of the gallery. Area souvenirs are also available at reasonable prices. The staff is a wealth of knowledge of the history of the buildings, other area attractions and the artists and art work contained in the gallery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nebraska O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Native American Art”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm a devoted admirer of Native American art, so we were delighted to find Prairie Edge in downtown Rapid City some years ago. Now we stop there any time that we get anywhere near Rapid City. I had long admired paintings of many colored wild horses racing across the pages of old fashioned ledgers -- wild horses on ledger pages is a tradition that started when paper was at a premium to native artists. On our last visit to Prairie Edge I found such a print. Now it hangs on the wall in our den. So if you are looking for art that is beautiful and authentic, have a look at Prairie Edge. You'll be glad you did.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank retirees2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience in Downtown Rapid City”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel to South Dakota frequently on business. But it isn't all work and no play! We've been coming to Prairie Edge and its associated Sioux Trading Post for over 15 years. It is in the heart of downtown, near great shops and restaurants, and parking is rarely an issue -- and when it is, a visit is worth the walk. The establishment is a moveable feast of artwork, native craft supplies, books, CDs, DVDs, and sundry delights. If you haven't been, GO! If you've been, you'll likely be back. The Italian bead library is breathtaking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Edge Trading Co. & Galleries also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Edge Trading Co. & Galleries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing